Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

Dustbowl Ballads


Product Description
Product Details


1. The Great Dust Storm

2. I Ain't Got No Home

3. Talking Dust Bowl Blues

4. Vigilante Man

5. Dust Can't Kill Me

6. Dust Pneumonia Blus

7. Pretty Boy Floyd

8. Blowin' Down This Road

9. Tom Joad Part 1

10. Tom Joad Part 2

11. Dust Bowl Refugee

12. Do Re Mi

13. Dust Bowl Blues

14. Dusty Old Dust

Performer Notes
  • Solo performer: Woody Guthrie (vocals, guitar, harmonica).
  • Reissue producers: Rob Santos, Nora Guthrie, Glenn Korman.
  • Recorded in New York, New York on April 26 & May 3, 1940. Includes liner notes by Dave Marsh & Woody Guthrie.
  • Digitally remastered by Doug Pomeroy (Pomeroy Audio).
  • Recording information: 04/26/1940.
  • American folk music has produced few artists as gifted and complex as Woody Guthrie. Guthrie's talents as a singer, harmonica player, and guitar player were merely ordinary, but as a songwriter, storyteller, and provocateur Guthrie had few equals. Guthrie's genius lay in his gift for seamlessly integrating his leftist political principles into his tales of common folks. Nowhere is this gift more evident than on DUST BOWL BALLADS. The fourteen-song set, originally released in 1940 on two albums of 78s, contains some of Woody Guthrie's most immediate and vibrant compositions, not surprising given that Guthrie had lived through the horrific Oklahoma dust storms of the early '30s.
  • DUST BOWL BALLADS benefits from its thematic cohesion, which allows it to play as a travelogue through the hard lives of Okie refugees. A number of tunes here will be instantly familiar: "I Ain't Got No Home," "Vigilante Man," "Pretty Boy Floyd," "Do Re Mi," and "So Long, It's Been Good to Know Yuh" are all campfire standards. The less well-known tunes here, however, are no less great. Particularly memorable are "Tom Joad" (a seven-minute Cliff Notes version of "The Grapes of Wrath"), and "Talking Dust Bowl Blues." A classic album.
Professional Reviews
CMJ (8/21/00, p.31) - "...Remarkable as both an album and a historic document....these remastered, tragic tales are something humorous yet always gripping."

Mojo (Publisher) (3/01/04, p.51) - Included in Mojo's The 67 Lost Albums You Must Own! - "[H]ard, droll folksongs, they mourn the Oklahoma wheatfields becoming 'a rippling ocean of dust the wind had blown...'"
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 8% commission by selling Dustbowl Ballads on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top