SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

The Drum Battle

Album: The Drum Battle: Jazz at the Philharmonic
# Song Title   Time
1)    Introduction - (by Norman Granz)
2)    Idaho
3)    Sophisticated Lady
4)    Flying Home
5)    Drum Boogie
6)    Drum Battle, The
7)    Perdido - (featuring Ella Fitzgerald)
Product Details


1. Introduction By Norman Granz

2. Idaho

3. Sophisticated Lady

4. Flying Home

5. Drum Boogie

6. The Drum Boogie

7. Perdido

Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Gene Krupa, Buddy Rich (drums); Ella Fitzgerald (vocals); Benny Carter, Willie Smith (alto saxophone); Flip Phillips, Lester Young (tenor saxophone); Roy Eldridge, Charlie Shavers (trumpet); Hank Jones, Oscar Peterson (piano); Barney Kessel (guitar); Ray Brown (bass).
  • Producer: Norman Granz.
  • Reissue producer: Bryan Koniarz.
  • Recorded at Carnegie Hall, New York, New York on September 13, 1952. Originally released as THE DRUM BATTLE AT JATP (8369). Includes liner notes by Leonard Feather.
  • Digitally remastered by Lesson 25 (PolyGram Studios).
  • This is part of the Verve By Request series.
  • Personnel: Gene Krupa (drums); Buddy Rich (drums); Ella Fitzgerald (vocals); Barney Kessel (guitar); Benny Carter (alto saxophone); Flip Phillips, Lester Young (tenor saxophone); Roy Eldridge, Charlie Shavers (trumpet); Hank Jones , Oscar Peterson (piano).
  • Liner Note Author: Leonard Feather.
  • Recording information: Carnegie Hall, New York, NY (09/13/1952).
  • This set was initially issued as the 15th instalment in Norman Grantz's Jazz at the Philharmonic series of LPs, EPs, and 45s. As that highly collectible compilation of performances has been out of print since the 1960s, many of the volumes were later issued under the respective artists' name. As the title would imply, Drum Battle: Jazz at the Philharmonic features the artistry of the Gene Krupa Trio with Buddy Rich (drums) sitting in on a few numbers as well as the inimitable jazz scat vocalizations of Ella Fitzgerald on a hot steppin' and definitive "Perdido." Opening the disc is Krupa's trio with Willie Smith (alto sax) and Hank Jones (piano) providing a solid and singularly swinging rhythm section. While Smith drives the band, Krupa is front and center with his antagonistic percussive prodding. "Idaho" is marked with Jones' rollicking post-bop mastery as he trades solos with Smith and can be heard quoting lines from Monk before yielding to Smith. The cover of Duke Ellington's "Sophisticated Lady" sparkles from beginning to end. Jones' opening flourish sets the tenure as Smith settles into a smoky lead, containing some nice syncopation and regal augmentation from Jones. Krupa primarily provides ample rhythm work on the emotive ballad. Smith's diversion into "Stormy Weather" is notable for exemplifying the lyrically improvisational nature of this combo. The tempo is significantly stepped up on a cover of Benny Goodman's "Flying Home," which is full of high-spirited playing and garners a sizable reaction from the audience. The lengthy "Drum Boogie" is one of Krupa's signature pieces and is greeted with tremendous enthusiasm. Buddy Rich climbs on board for a one-on-one duel with Krupa, whose styles mesh into a mile-a-minute wash of profound percussion. The duet segues into an inspired and free-form jam on "Perdido," with Fitzgerald belting out her lines with authority, class, and most of all, soul. ~ Lindsay Planer
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Jazz » Jazz Instrument » Drums
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Drum Battle: Jazz at the Philharmonic on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top