SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

New Zealand's Lowest Prices. Guaranteed

Down by the Jetty

Album: Down by the Jetty
# Song Title   Time
1)    She Does It Right
2)    Boom Boom
3)    More I Give, The
4)    Roxette
5)    One Weekend
6)    That Ain't No Way To Behave
7)    I Don't Mind
8)    Twenty Yards Behind
9)    Keep It Out Of Sight
10)    All Through The City
11)    Cheque Book
12)    Oyeh
13)    Bony Moronie/Tequilla - (live)
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Lee Brilleaux (vocals, guitar, harp, harmonica); Wilko Johnson (vocals, guitar, piano); The Big Figure (vocals, drums); Bob Andrews (saxophone, alto saxophone, tenor saxophone, organ, keyboards); Brinsley Schwarz (saxophone, alto saxophone, tenor saxophone); Figure Martin (drums).
  • Recording information: Dingwall's Dance Hall, Camden Lock (06/08/1974-11/27/1974).
  • The CD reissue of this album is a must-own release, even for those who already have one of the Dr. Feelgood anthologies currently available, neither of which has more than three of the 13 tracks here. The 1975 album, a magnificent first album, recorded in pure mono, has been transferred to CD in exemplary form, a clean, sharp, crunchy, close sound that recalls the sonic textures of the Rolling Stones' first album, even as they cross swords with the Stones' arch-rivals of the era, the Animals, with a superb version of "Boom Boom." Released amid the burgeoning radio presence of acts like Thin Lizzy, Blue ™yster Cult, and Kansas, and the growing self-conscious profundity of Bruce Springsteen, Down by the Jetty was as refreshingly lean as anything the headline-grabbing '70s punks would later loose on the world, and as stripped down as the most basic roots rock. Lee Brilleaux's singing could go up against Eric Burdon's or Cyril Davies, and even take on elements of a thick rasp vaguely reminiscent of Howlin' Wolf (listen closely to "Roxette"), certainly better than Mick Jagger ever did; and guitarist Wilko Johnson could play Jimmy Reed, Chuck Berry, or Bo Diddley licks with equally imposing (and seemingly effortless) virtuosity. This record was one of the great '70s rock & roll albums, right up there with the Groovies' Shake Some Action and anything CCR left listeners, and ran circles around the Rolling Stones' post-Exile on Main Street output. The final cut, a killer live medley of "Bonie Maronie"/"Tequila" with guests Brinsley Schwarz and Bob Andrews blowing saxes, was a taste of what they did on stage with astonishing regularity, and could have sent the Ramones back to the drawing board if the Queens-based quartet had heard it. ~ Bruce Eder
Professional Reviews
Spin (p.104) - "Their surly, no-frills R&B anticipates punk's brutal simplicity..."

Q (p.122) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "Playing rocking blues fast and tight....Their seedy menace is electryingly present here."

Mojo (Publisher) (p.112) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[The album] defined the whippet-lean growl and bite of the best pub rock....[It was also] an undeniable incubator of punk."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
Home » Music » Pop » Pub Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Down by the Jetty on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Back to top