SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

Domino Effect *

Album: Domino Effect *
# Song Title   Time
1)    Master of Illusion
2)    Gone Too Far
3)    Domino Effect
4)    Falling
5)    Call, The
6)    Oscar Goes to..., The
7)    Cruiser, The (Judgement Day)
8)    Heal Me
9)    Letter to a Friend
10)    Tomorrow's Just Begun
11)    Come Alive
12)    Bad to the Bone
13)    Now
14)    Where Is Love When It's Gone
15)    Can't Be the Real Thing
16)    Anytime Anywhere
17)    El Traidor
18)    Lift U Up
19)    Tu Pasion
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Steve Lee (vocals); Freddy Scherer, Leo Leoni (guitar, background vocals); Nicol? Fragile (keyboards); Hena Habegger (drums, percussion); Danny Lee (background vocals).
  • Photographer: Caspar Martig.
  • Like a specter of '80s rock & roll coming back to haunt you, Swiss veterans Gotthard keep teasing their hair, waxing their leather chaps, and pumping out glossy, commercial heavy rock as though the '90s and grunge never even happened. To each his own, though, and 2007's refreshingly unapologetic Domino Effect (the group's ninth studio platter) taps into the familiar qualities of the Euro-metal circa 1988 (not quite as fluffy as the American glam set, nor as high energy or hysterical as fast-rising power metal), when dinosaurs like the Scorpions, Sinner, and Krokus (whose bassist actually produced Gotthard's early efforts) roamed the landscape unchallenged. On Domino Effect, Gotthard sounds perfectly at ease whether they are uncorking darker, heavier offerings like "Gone Too Far" and "The Cruiser" (which recall glory period Savatage); finely crafted power ballads like "Falling," "The Call," "Tomorrow's Just Begun," and "Letter to a Friend" (which they have no qualms about sequencing back to back!); or more rhythmic, arena-suited anthems like the title track, "Heal Me," and "Come Alive," which remind us of Bon Jovi in their prime. In retrospect, Gotthard's forceful delivery amid abundant melodicism feels like the natural progression of AOR, with guitars and keyboards sharing almost equal space behind the raspy vocals of frontman Steve Lee on most of the above, plus standouts like "Master of Illusion," "Now," and the clever "The Oscar Goes To..." Closing number "Where Is Love When It's Gone" finally pushes the pop envelope a tad too far, but with a generous 14 cuts to choose from, Gotthard will surely get plenty of understanding from all fans of accessible (if dated) heavy rock. [U.S. versions of Domino Effect packed an additional five bonus cuts, including two sung in Spanish.] ~ Eduardo Rivadavia
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Domino Effect * on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top