Fishpond Gift Vouchers - Let them choose!

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Crimes Against Music

Album: Crimes Against Music: 1986-1999
# Song Title   Time
1)    I've Got Everything Indeed
2)    Strange Words
3)    I Love That Girl Ammonia
4)    Get Out of Here Pretty Girl
5)    Greatest Lover in the World, The
6)    Coming Upside Your Head
7)    Mister Elisabeth
8)    I Remember
9)    Why Don't You Try My Love?
10)    Burn and Blind Me
11)    Not Many of My Kind
12)    This Whole Wide World
13)    Grinning in Your Face
14)    Yellow Skin Baby
15)    Bourgeois Blues
16)    Cosmetic Women
17)    Troubled Times
18)    I Love My Woman
19)    Bottle Up and Go
20)    John Hardy
21)    Ballad of Hollis Brown, The
22)    Cowboys Are Square
23)    I Feel So Bad
24)    I'm Hurting
25)    Iodine in My Coffee
26)    Cold Chills
27)    Crimes of the Future
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Billy Childish (vocals, guitar); Billy Childish; Kyra (vocals, drum, claves, foot stamps); Holly Golightly (vocals); Johnny Johnson (guitar, banjo, harmonica); Mike Hampshire, Big Russ Wilkins (guitar); Dan Melchior (slide guitar); Seamus (accordion); Dave (trumpet); Olifer (bass guitar, drums); Bertie (bass guitar, maracas); John Gibbs, Rockin' Richard (bass guitar); Bruce Brand (drums, foot stamps); Vic Templar (drums).
  • Recording information: Hangman Records (07/29/1986-??/??/1987); Sympathy for the Record Industry (07/29/1986-??/??/1987).
  • This double-LP collection of largely acoustic blues numbers from the U.K.'s king of low-tech punk was seemingly recorded in the home in super-rough fidelity over a three-year period, and covers the rawest guts of Billy Childish's post-punk blues sound. As ragged and convincing as Robert Johnson at points, Crimes Against Music was taped in varying degrees of fidelity, and upon listening one can assume the songs were cut in some pretty early hours of the morning, with little to no preparation. An astonishing display of spontaneous cracked genius, Crimes Against Music is utterly essential to collectors of the great poet's work. The artist's own blues numbers are interspersed with flooring renditions of Son House, Bob Dylan, Jimmy Reed, Huddie Ledbetter, and John Lee Hooker standards. With over 21 tracks in total, the collection culminates on side four with John Lee Hooker's "Cold Chills," an outstanding take. The collection closes with Childish's own "Crimes of the Future," a terse Childish rave that can leave your mouth agape in silence for a good half an hour before giving in to the impulse to play the whole four sides again. "Why Don't You Try to Love Me?," "I Love That Girl Ammonia," and "Mister Elizabeth" are exceptional titles as well, and Crimes Against Music displays some of Childish's finest work spanning 1986 to 1999. ~ Skip Jansen
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Crimes Against Music: 1986-1999 on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top