Australasia's Biggest Online Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

The Complete Live At The Village Vanguard 1961

Album: The Complete Live At The Village Vanguard 1961
# Song Title   Time
  Disc 1
1)    Spoken Introduction More Info... 0:43
2)    Gloria's Step Take 1, interrupted More Info... 5:41
3)    Alice In Wonderland Take 1 More Info... 7:04
4)    My Foolish Heart More Info... 4:58
5)    All Of You Take 1 More Info... 8:14
6)    Announcement And Intermission More Info... 1:45
7)    My Romance Take 1 More Info... 7:09
8)    Some Other Time More Info... 4:58
9)    Solar More Info... 8:53
  Disc 2
1)    Gloria's Step Take 2 More Info... 6:08
2)    My Man's Gone Now More Info... 6:21
3)    All Of You Take 2 More Info... 8:29
4)    Detour Ahead Take 1 More Info... 7:17
5)    Discussing Repertiore More Info... 0:31
6)    Waltz For Debby Take 1 More Info... 6:46
7)    Alice In Wonderland Take 2 More Info... 8:31
8)    Porgy (I Loves You, Porgy) Live More Info... 6:09
9)    My Romance Take 2 More Info... 7:26
10)    Milestones More Info... 6:31
  Disc 3
1)    Detour Ahead Take 2 More Info... 7:40
2)    Gloria's Step Take 3 More Info... 7:01
3)    Waltz For Debby Take 2 More Info... 6:57
4)    All Of You Take 3 More Info... 8:17
5)    Jade Visions Take 1 More Info... 4:11
6)    Jade Visions Take 2 More Info... 4:04
7)    ... A Few Final Bars More Info... 1:15
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Bill Evans (Piano)/Bill Evans Trio (Piano): Bill Evans ; Scott LaFaro (double bass); Paul Motian.
  • Personnel: Bill Evans (piano); Paul Motian (drums).
  • Liner Note Author: Orrin Keepnews.
  • Recording information: Village Vanguard, New York, NY (06/25/1961).
  • Photographer: Steve Schapiro.
  • On June 25th, 1961, Bill Evans and his trio made jazz history over the course of five sets at the Village Vanguard. Selections from those performances were released on two full-length LPs, WALTZ FOR DEBBY and Sunday AT THE VILLAGE VANGUARD, both of which went on to become landmark jazz albums from the era. The three-disc COMPLETE VILLAGE VANGUARD RECORDINGS provides a valuable service by presenting all five sets in their complete and original sequence, with crisp remastered sound, a previously unissued take (Scott LaFaro's "Gloria's Step"), and snippets of on-stage patter.
  • Much has been made of the chemistry between Evans, bassist LaFaro, and drummer Paul Motian, and little of it has been overblown. The three make intuitive, shape-shifting music that breaks new ground with its subtle, sophisticated rhythmic interplay and achingly lyrical beauty. Evans's playing, informed by a Chopin-esque delicacy as much as by post-bop dynamism, is a case study of the jazz ideal achieved. The music, the improved sound, and the chance to have the complete date under one cover make this set a must.
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Jazz » Jazz Instrument » Piano
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Complete Live At The Village Vanguard 1961 on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top