SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Complete After Midnight Sessions

Album: Complete After Midnight Sessions
# Song Title   Time
1)    Just You, Just Me
2)    Sweet Lorraine
3)    Sometimes I'm Happy
4)    Caravan
5)    It's Only a Paper Moon
6)    You're Looking at Me
7)    Lonely One, The
8)    Don't Let It Go to Your Head
9)    I Know That You Know
10)    Blame It on My Youth
11)    When I Grow Too Old to Dream
12)    Route 66
13)    I Was a Little Too Lonely (And You Were a Little Too Late)
14)    You Can Depend on Me
15)    What Is There to Say?
16)    Two Loves Have I
17)    Candy
18)    You're Looking at Me - (alternate take)
Product Details


1. No Track Listing Available

Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Nat "King" Cole (vocals, piano); Willie Smith (alto saxophone); Harry "Sweets" Edison (trumpet); Juan Tizol (valve trombone); Stuff Smith (violin); John Collins (guitar); Charlie Harris (bass); Lee Young (drums); Jack Costanzo (congas, bongos).
  • Producer: Lee Gillette.
  • Reissue producer: Michael Cuscuna.
  • Recorded at Capitol Studios, Los Angeles, California between August 15 & September 24, 1956. Includes liner notes by Ralph J. Gleason and Michael Cuscuna.
  • Digitally remastered using 20-bit technology by Ron McMaster.
  • Personnel: Nat King Cole (vocals, piano); John Collins (guitar); Stuff Smith (violin); Willie Smith (alto saxophone); The Harry "Sweets" Edison Orchestra, Harry "Sweets" Edison (trumpet); Juan Tizol (valve trombone); Charlie Harris, Lee Young (drums); Jack Costanzo (congas, bongos).
  • Audio Remasterer: Larry Walsh.
  • Liner Note Authors: Michael Cuscuna; Pete Welding; Ralph J. Gleason.
  • Recording information: Capitol studios, Los Angeles, CA (08/15/1956-09/02/1956); Studio A, Capitol Tower, Hollywood, CA (08/15/1956-09/02/1956).
  • The AFTER MIDNIGHT sessions were Nat "King" Cole's attempt in 1956 to get a little more in touch with his jazz roots, once again accompanying himself on piano--at one time Cole was considered the heir to Teddy Wilson--and playing with a small combo that included Harry "Sweets" Edison on trumpet, Juan Tizol on trombone, and Ray Nance on violin. As such it was a highly succesful date for Cole and Co. and it stands up more than 50 years later. This was no mere jam session but a chance to hear Cole vocalizing in a non-orchestral setting, just like his early trio but this time singing full-fledged standards like "What Is There To Say?" and the beautifully rendered "You're Looking At Me," not just the familiar Cole trio novelties. THE COMPLETE AFTER MIDNIGHT SESSIONS gathers the 21 master takes that were recorded at the time, three more than the previous "complete" edition on Capitol.
Professional Reviews
JazzTimes (3/97, p.99) - "...this is classy music for mellow hours, before or after midnight."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Complete After Midnight Sessions on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top