SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

New Zealand's Lowest Prices. Guaranteed

Come on in This House

Album: Come on in This House
# Song Title   Time
1)    What My Momma Told Me/That's All Right: What My Momma Told Me / That's All Right
2)    Why Are People Like That?
3)    Trust My Baby
4)    Million Years Blues
5)    Give Me One Reason
6)    Ships on the Ocean
7)    She Wants to Sell My Monkey
8)    So Glad You're Mine
9)    Mystery Train
10)    I'm Gonna Move to Kansas City
11)    Kingfish Blues
12)    You Better Watch Yourself
13)    Come on in This House
14)    Goat, The
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Junior Wells (vocals, harmonica); Alvin Youngblood Hart (vocals, steel guitar, National guitar, dobro); Bob Margolin (acoustic guitar, electric guitar); Tab Benoit (acoustic guitar); John Mooney (electric guitar, slide guitar); Sonny Landreth (slide guitar, steel guitar, National guitar); Derek Trucks (slide guitar); Corey Harris (steel guitar, National guitar); Jon Cleary (piano); Bob Sunda (acoustic bass, 6-string bass); Herman V. Ernest III (drums).
  • Liner Note Author: Frank John Hadley.
  • Recording information: Dockside Studios, Maurice, LA (04/16/1996-05/31/1996); Dockside, Maurice, LA (04/16/1996-05/31/1996); Soundtracks Recording Studio, New York, NY (04/16/1996-05/31/1996).
  • Unknown Contributor Role: Junior Wells.
  • Junior Wells' penchant for clowning around sometimes conflicts with his craftsmanship, but he's all business on Come on in This House, his most unadulterated blues record since his highly acclaimed Hoodoo Man Blues of more than 30 years vintage. This is what has come to be known as an "unplugged" session -- that is, predominately, although not exclusively, acoustic instrumentation. Producer John Snyder's concept was threefold: to team Wells with some of the era's top younger traditional blues guitarists -- Corey Harris, Alvin Youngblood Hart, Sonny Landreth, Bob Margolin, and John Mooney; to have those musicians, in various combinations, accompany Wells on a variety of slide guitars; and to concentrate on vintage Chicago and Delta blues from the repertoires of Rice Miller, Little Walter, Tampa Red, Arthur Crudup, and Wells himself. The result is a virtual slide-guitar mini-fest and a demonstration of the timeless appeal of classic blues done well. Wells' vocals are deep and manly; his harp playing is high-pitched, like a child's pleading. A surprising highlight is the only contemporary tune on the disc, Tracy Chapman's "Give Me One Reason." New Orleans drummer Herman Ernest III, who appears on 11 of the 14 cuts, does a masterful job laying down understated rhythmic grooves. ~ Steve Hoffman
Professional Reviews
Q (2/97, p.102) - 4 Stars (out of 5) - "...This largely acoustic face-off with a posse of guest slide guitarists easily stands beside the singer/harmonica player's finest work..."

JazzTimes (2/97, p.87) - "...No burgeoning horn sections or blustery arrangements here; just Wells' distinctively soulful voice and signature honking backed by the rock solid New Orleans rhythm section....An intriguing showcase for the Young Lions Of Slide Guitar, topped of with the regal presence of Junior..."

Living Blues (1-2/97, p.66) - "COME ON IN THIS HOUSE presents harmonica veteran Junior Wells in a wide variety of settings, surrounded by a bevy of slide guitarists....Relying more on straight blues than many of Wells' albums..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Blues » Chicago Blues
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Come on in This House on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top