Australasia's Biggest Online Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Collectable King Crimson, Vol. 4

Album: Collectable King Crimson, Vol. 4
# Song Title   Time
1)    Prozakc Blues
2)    Construkction of Light, The
3)    World's My Oyster Soup/Kitchen Floor Wax Museum, The
4)    Improv: Warsaw
5)    Dinosaur
6)    One Time
7)    Vroom
8)    Cage
1)    Into the Frying Pan
2)    Lark's Tongues in Aspic, Pt. 4
3)    Three of a Perfect Pair
4)    Deception of the Thrush, The
5)    Sex, Sleep, Eat, Drink, Dream
6)    Heroes
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • King Crimson: Adrian Belew (vocals, guitar); Robert Fripp, Trey Gunn (guitar); Pat Mastelotto (drums, electronic drums).
  • Liner Note Author: Trey Gunn.
  • Recording information: Roma, Warsaw, Poland (06/11/2000).
  • Photographer: Bill Munyon.
  • The Collectable King Crimson, Vol. 4 (2009) contains the second of two shows in Warsaw, Poland during the band's Eastern and Western European excursion. The 21st century double-duo incarnation of Krim consisted of Adrian Belew (guitar/vocals), Robert Fripp (guitar/soundscapes), Trey Gunn (touch guitar/ashbory bass/talker), and Pat Mastelotto (electronic drumming) who were collectively embarking upon the first round of shows that King Crimson had performed since the mid-'90s double-trio lineup. After the extended aggregate disbanded in the spring of 1997, the greater unit split into a variety of sub-groups (ProjeKcts) and when the smoke cleared, it was Belew, Fripp, Gunn, and Mastelotto left to pick up the pieces. The resulting album, ConstruKCtion of Light (2001), was a step toward what would eventually coalesce more definitively on their follow-up, Power to Believe (2003). Their set ranged little from stop to stop and Collectable King Crimson, Vol. 4 (2009) is an apt reflection of the quartet as they unleashed selections from the recently released ConstruKCtion of Light as well as a smattering of tracks dating as far back as 1982's "Three of a Perfect Pair" -- which is given an authoritative acoustic rendering from Belew after inquiring whether the audience has "any requests." Of the newer material, the dry humor-laden grunge rocker "Into the Frying Pan" and the instrumentals "Larks' Tongues in Aspic, Pt. 4" and ProjeKct Four's "Deception of the Thrush" are flawlessly rendered, with the free-form "Improv: Warsaw" being the most inspired outing of the evening in question. There are other moments that come close, including a haunting and mesmerizing "One Time." They close with a cover of David Bowie's "Heroes," which is actually not as surprising as it might initially seem since Fripp had contributed the searing lead guitar to the original 1977 studio recording. In terms of fidelity, the audio quality gets top-shelf consideration thanks to a soundboard/mixing desk source tape. ~ Lindsay Planer
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
Home » Music » Pop » Art Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Collectable King Crimson, Vol. 4 on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top