Australasia's Biggest Online Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Cloud Nine

Album: Cloud Nine
# Song Title   Time
1)    Intro
2)    Stole the Show - (featuring Parson James)
3)    Fiction - (featuring Tom Odell)
4)    Raging - (featuring Tom Odell)
5)    Firestone - (featuring Conrad Sewell)
6)    Happy Birthday - (featuring John Legend)
7)    I'm in Love - (featuring James Vincent McMorrow)
8)    Oasis - (featuring Foxes)
9)    Not Alone - (featuring Rhodes)
10)    Serious - (featuring Matt Corby)
11)    Stay - (featuring Maty Noyes)
12)    Nothing Left - (featuring Will Heard)
13)    Fragile
14)    Carry Me - (featuring Julia Michaels)
15)    For What It's Worth - (featuring Angus & Julia Stone)
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Foregoing the big drops and unrelenting hammer beats of festival EDM on his debut album Cloud Nine, Norwegian pianist and producer Kygo (born Kyrre Gorvell-Dahll) crafted relaxed, melodic pop-hook house aimed at secluded beaches, nocturnal haunts, and even romantic rendezvous. Boasting a full roster of guest vocalists, Cloud Nine is music for the lounge, not the club, and the soundtrack to the post-party comedown. As the title suggests, this collection is pleasurable and light, lifting listeners to that eponymous place in the heavens. From the sparkling "Intro" to the plaintive closer "For What It's Worth," Cloud Nine is a cohesive journey where each song melts into the next along the connective thread that is Kygo's celestial piano tinkling. The high points of the album are subtle nods to Kygo's big influence, Avicii, that combine folksy guitars atop thumping dance beats. "Fiction" features British singer/songwriter Tom Odell and sounds like Arcade Fire's Win Butler guesting on a track by that aforementioned Swede. Irish band Kodaline lend their acoustic guitar strumming to the James Bay-penned "Raging." Irish singer James Vincent McMorrow contributes a fragile falsetto to the arena-ready "I'm in Love." Elsewhere, juicier jams add some soul to Cloud Nine, like on Parson James' tropical house "Stole the Show," Will Heard's sensual "Nothing Left," and Maty Noyes' pulsing "Stay." Stand-out centerpiece "Oasis" features British pop singer Foxes on a Sia-penned epic that incorporates a string section and the best Chris Martin piano melody this side of "A Sky Full of Stars." It's also one of the few truly energetic moments on Cloud Nine. To that end, some stretches of the album may be a little too sleepy and subdued, with songs bleeding together in a hypnotic haze. Nonetheless, refreshingly void of aggression or any deliberate tension, Cloud Nine comforts with its positivity and charm. ~ Neil Z. Yeung
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone - 3 stars out of 5 -- "[U]nfailingly gorgeous. With slow-flow pulses and blears of reverb, CLOUD NINE triangulates the downtempo of the Nineties, the chillwave of the Aughts and our current appetite for deep house -- a sound at once modern and nostalgic."

NME (Magazine) - "Chugging guitar riffs meet percolating beats sweetly on the Odell-led `Fiction'; his Kodaline collaboration `Raging' is as folky and emotional as you'd hope..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » R&B » General
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Cloud Nine on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top