SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

New Zealand's Lowest Prices. Guaranteed

Citizen *

Album: Citizen *
# Song Title   Time
1)    Perfect
2)    Going Through Changes
3)    Rise
4)    Meet You at the Mouth
5)    Still Believe in You
6)    Thinking It Over
7)    Better Run
8)    How Long
9)    Walking On
10)    2 into 1
11)    Saved Your Life
12)    Back to Business
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Composer: Army of Me.
  • Lyricist: Vince Scheuerman.
  • Army of Me: Tripper Ryder, John Hutchins (bass instrument); Dennis Manuel (drums); Brad Tursi, Vince Scheuerman.
  • Personnel: Vince Scheuerman (vocals, guitar, piano); Brad Tursi (vocals, guitar); Dennis Manuel (drums).
  • Audio Mixers: Josh Wilbur; Brian Malouf.
  • Recording information: Studio Barbarosa, Bavon, VA.
  • Illustrators: Yuan Wu; Matt Pamer.
  • After garnering a fair share of "best unsigned band" accolades over time, Army of Me finally inked a deal with Ohio-based indie Doghouse Records in early 2006 for the eventual release of their debut full-length, Citizen. There's a real sense that the guys love Our Lady Peace and loads of British alternative rock -- Oasis, Travis, Idlewild, Coldplay -- from the shimmering and dynamic buildups to the subtle accent that Maryland native Vince Scheuerman randomly affects in various songs. He has a silky and wholly likable delivery that easily pushes the band's super polished hooks to sky-high levels, yet always manages to retain a very down-to-earth feel despite its slightly expansive sonics. This works to the songs' benefit, and the opening pair of "Perfect" and "Going Through Changes" sets the tone for all of the sun-emerging-from-behind-cloud swells of earnest emotion that make up a large part of Citizen's repertoire -- an exception being the darker, fuzzier "Meet You at the Mouth" -- along with underlying themes of personal growth, freedom and searching for meaning in everyday events. One can only assume this persistent subject matter is at least partially influenced by Scheuerman's upbringing in a religious cult, which led to frustrations as he got older and became part of the secular world. "Better Run" builds on a slow piano, while "How Long" rocks harder with churning guitars and propulsive drums; both show Army of Me's ability to pull off different ends of the rock spectrum successfully, so much so that it's pretty easy to see the band scoring radio hits and jumping into the mainstream consciousness quickly. Ultimately, this glistening 12-song set makes it very easy to see Army of Me following in the successful footsteps of another little Doghouse act that could, the All-American Rejects. ~ Corey Apar
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Citizen * on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top