SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

Christmas Songs by Sinatra [Remaster]

Album: Christmas Songs by Sinatra [Remaster]
# Song Title   Time
1)    White Christmas - (previously unreleased, alternate take)
2)    Silent Night, Holy Night - (previously unreleased, alternate take)
3)    Adeste Fideles [O Come All Ye Faithful]
4)    Jingle Bells - (previously unreleased, alternate take)
5)    Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas
6)    Christmas Dreaming
7)    It Came Upon the Midnight Clear - (previously unreleased, alternate take)
8)    O Little Town of Bethlehem
9)    Santa Claus Is Comin' to Town - (previously unreleased, alternate take)
10)    Let It Snow! Let It Snow! Let It Snow!
11)    Introduction [Spoken Word]
12)    O Little Town Of Bethlehem/Joy to the World/White Christmas: O, Little Town Of Bethlehem / Joy To The World / White Christmas
13)    Ave Maria - (previously unreleased)
14)    Winter Wonderland - (previously unreleased)
15)    Lord's Prayer, The - (previously unreleased)
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel includes: Frank Sinatra (vocals); Alex Stordahl (arranger, conductor); Bobby Tucker Singers, Ken Lane Singers, B. Swanson Quartet, Jeff Alexander Orchestra & Chorus, Mitchell Boys Choir.
  • Recorded from 1944 to 1949. Includes liner notes by Roy Hemming.
  • Digitally remastered using Cedar and NoNoise technology by Tom Ruff (Sony Music Studios, New York, New York).
  • It should come as no surprise that Frank Sinatra would have a special way with Christmas songs just as he did with every other type of song. This welcome reissue is a slightly expanded version of Sinatra's original 1948 Christmas album and includes some 1945 V-Disc holiday performances especially recorded for the troops still stationed in Europe right after the war. The original 78s hold up incredibly well for Christmas music a half-century old.
  • Sinatra's approach to such chestnuts as "White Christmas"--only 2 years old in 1944--and "Silent Night" is straightforward, unsentimental and utterly convincing. It also owes nothing to Bing Crosby, who had a franchise on this kind of family fare. Sinatra's fresh, non-pietistic take on this material is geared more toward the unattached (young) man in the street rather than family men. The slightly sexy "Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas" and "Christmas Dreaming (A Little Early This Year)" were for the very same G.I.s Sinatra had once entertained through his V-Discs, back home now and considering the uncertain (and slightly sexy) future looming before them.
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Vocal » Christmas
Home » Music » Pop » Christmas
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Christmas Songs by Sinatra [Remaster] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top