Download the Free Fishpond App!
Download on the App Store

Android App on Google play
Chet Baker Sings

Already own it?

Sell Yours
Home » Music » Jazz » Jazz Instrument » Trumpet

Chet Baker Sings

Artist: Chet Baker (Performed By)

Elsewhere $23.28 $19.95   Save 14%
Price includes NZ wide delivery!
Ships from USA
Order now for Christmas delivery
Register or sign-in to rate and get recommendations.
Label: Blue Note (Label)
Album: Chet Baker Sings
# Song Title   Time
1)    That Old Feeling
2)    It's Always You
3)    Like Someone in Love
4)    My Ideal
5)    I've Never Been in Love Before
6)    My Buddy
7)    But Not for Me
8)    Time After Time
9)    I Get Along Without You Very Well
10)    My Funny Valentine
11)    There Will Never Be Another You
12)    Thrill Is Gone, The
13)    I Fall in Love Too Easily
14)    Look for the Silver Lining

No description available.Genre:Jazz MusicRating:Release Date:0000-00-00Media Type:Compact Disc
  • Genre: Jazz Music
  • Chet Baker - Sings [CD]

Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Chet Baker (vocals, trumpet); Russ Freeman (piano, celeste); James Bond, Carson Smith (bass); Peter Littman, Lawrence Marable, Bob Neel (drums).
  • Recorded at the Forum Theatre, Los Angeles, California on July 23 & 30, 1956; Capitol Studios, Hollywood, California on February 15, 1954. Includes liner notes by Richard Brock and Gerlad Heard.
  • Personnel: Chet Baker (vocals, trumpet); Russ Freeman (piano, celesta); Bob Neal, Larance Marable, Peter Littman, Bob Neel (drums).
  • Liner Note Author: Gerald Heard.
  • Recording information: Capitol Studios, Hollywood, CA (02/15/1954-07/30/1956); Forum Theatre, LA, CA (02/15/1954-07/30/1956); Forum Theatre, Los Angeles, CA (02/15/1954-07/30/1956).
  • Photographer: William Claxton.
  • Few musicians were such a double threat as Chet Baker; he could blow a cool trumpet, and croon a lazy ballad or a bouncing standard with the best of them. His butter-smooth voice is featured here on his first session for Riverside, CHET BAKER SINGS IT COULD HAPPEN TO YOU. Of course, the great old chestnut in the title is not the only gem contained herein--Baker also swings and sings such great Rogers and Hart songs as "Do It the Hard Way," My Heart Stood Still," and "Dancing on the Ceiling."
  • Hearing the combination of Baker's lazy West Coast swing and the driving push of his East Coast sidemen on uptempo numbers like "You're Driving Me Crazy" or "My Heart Stood Still" is an undoubted treat, but it's smoky ballads such as "I'm Old Fashioned" and the swaying title track that win the most points. For lovers of great old songs sung with feeling, CHET BAKER SINGS IT COULD HAPPEN TO YOU is hard to beat.

Professional Reviews
Q (4/99, p.128) - Included in Q's "Best Jazz Albums of All Time."

Q (p.44) - "[H]is trumpet playing was breathy, understated and wistfully languid, and he sang the same way..."

Producer:Richard Bock
Format:CD (0 Disc); Mixed
Studio/Live: Studio
Release Date:30 January, 1998
Guest Artist: Kenny Drew; Russ Freeman; Sam Jones; Philly Joe Jones; Dannie Richmond


1. That Old Feeling

2. It's Always You

3. Like Someone In Love

4. My Idel

5. I've Never Been In Love Before

6. Mu Buddy

7. But Not For Me

8. Time After Time

9. I Get Along Without You Very Well

10. My Funny Valetine

11. There Will Neer Be Another You

12. The Thrill Is Gone

13. I Fall In Love Too Easily

14. Look For The Silver Lining

Tell a friend

Their Email:

Sell Yours

Already own this item?
Sell Yours and earn some cash. It's fast and free to list! (Learn More.)

Review this Product


Related Searches


Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners

You can earn a 5% commission by selling Chet Baker Sings on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep!



Are you the Author/Publisher? Improve sales by submitting additional information on this title.


This item ships from and is sold by, Inc.