Australasia's Biggest Online Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Carnival, Vol. 2

New or Used: 2 copies from $4.94
Album: Carnival, Vol. 2: Memoirs of an Immigrant [Bonus Tracks]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Intro
2)    Riot
3)    Sweetest Girl (Dollar Bill)
4)    Welcome To The East
5)    Slow Down
6)    King And Queen
7)    Fast Car
8)    What About The Baby
9)    Hollywood Meets Bollywood (Immigration)
10)    Any Other Day
11)    Heaven's In New York
12)    Selena
13)    Touch Your Button Carnival Jam
14)    Outro
15)    On Tour
16)    China Wine
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • In the decade since his post-Fugees solo debut Wyclef Jean has become as well known as an activist as a pop artist. CARNIVAL II: MEMOIRS OF AN IMMIGRANT reflects Jean's political commitment in its detailing of immigrant experience, but not without also turning in an album of bright, eclectic, and continually inventive music. Reggae, Latin, and South Asian sounds can be heard amid the hip-hop and R&B, creating a multicultural pastiche that perfectly suits Jean's lyrical message.
  • CARNIVAL II is star-studded affair, with everyone from Paul Simon to Mary J. Blige to Nora Jones to the Minister Louis Farrakhan making guest appearances. There's plenty of the smooth rapping and pop smarts that Jean fans expect, but the arrangements and production for the disc set it a cut above. "Riot," featuring dancehall king Sizzla and System of a Down's Serj Tanikan, is a highlight, as is "Hollywood Meets Bollywood," a track that features the Southern MC Chamillionaire.
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (p.130) - 3.5 stars out of 4 -- "It's a breathtaking, ambitious ride through a carnival of global music too rarely explored."

Entertainment Weekly (p.76) - "[With] the post-Katrina hymn 'Any Other Day,' on which Norah Jones joins Wyclef to paint a poignant picture of families stranded on rooftops..."

Vibe (p.108) - "[The album] makes Wyclef's M.O. crystal-clear: There are no division. He's aiming for one world, rocking to his thick, improbable grooves."

Q (Magazine) (p.124) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "[T]he roll-call of guests reflects his savvy, anything-goes approach."

Mojo (Publisher) (p.102) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "Jean's sonic scope is breathtaking, complemented by imaginative lyrics whose themes range from family break ups, prostitution and drive-by shootings to the US occupation of Iraq."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » R&B » General
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Carnival, Vol. 2: Memoirs of an Immigrant [Bonus Tracks] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top