How does Fishpond Work?

Captain Fantastic And The Brown Dirt Cowboy [Remastered]

Another ambitious concept LP, another John/Taupin masterpiece, another #1. Along with the smash Someone Saved My Life Tonight and the rest of the 1975 LP, this CD adds three bonus cuts including the #1s Philadelphia Freedom and Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds !
  • Genre: Popular Music
  • Elton John - Captain Fantastic & the Brown Dirt Cowboy [CD]
Album: Captain Fantastic And The Brown Dirt Cowboy [Remastered]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Captain Fantastic And The Brown Dirt Cowboy More Info... 5:46
2)    Tower Of Babel More Info... 4:28
3)    Bitter Fingers More Info... 4:34
4)    Tell Me When The Whistle Blows More Info... 4:21
5)    Someone Saved My Life Tonight More Info... 6:45
6)    (Gotta Get A) Meal Ticket More Info... 4:01
7)    Better Off Dead More Info... 2:37
8)    Writing More Info... 3:40
9)    We All Fall In Love Sometimes More Info... 4:13
10)    Curtains More Info... 6:35
11)    Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds Album Version More Info... 6:18
12)    One Day At A Time Album Version More Info... 3:49
13)    Philadelphia Freedom Album Version More Info... 5:25
Product Details


1. Captain Fantastic And The Brown Dirt Cowboy

2. Tower Of Babel

3. Bitter Fingers

4. Tell Me When The Whistle Blows

5. Someone Saved My Life Tonight

6. (Gotta Get A) Meal Ticket

7. Better Off Dead

8. Writing

9. We All Fall In Love Sometimes

10. Curtains

11. Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds (Bonus Track)

12. One Day At A Time (Bonus Track)

13. Philadelphia Freedom (Bonus Track)

Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Elton John (vocals, strings, piano, electric piano, harpsichord, Clavinet, Mellotron, keyboards, synthesizer, ARP synthesizer); Elton John; John Lennon (guitar); Dee Murray (bass guitar, background vocals); Ray Cooper (congas, bongos, cymbals, Jew's harp, shaker, tambourine, triangle, percussion, bells, hand bells, gong); Davey Johnstone (vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, mandolin, piano, synthesizer, background vocals); David Hentschel (keyboards, synthesizer, ARP synthesizer); Nigel Olsson (drums, background vocals).
  • Audio Mixer: Greg Penny.
  • Audio Remasterer: Tony Cousins.
  • Audio Remixers: Gus Dudgeon; Phil Dunne.
  • Liner Note Author: John Tobler.
  • Recording information: Caribou Ranch, CO (06/1974-07/1974).
  • Ensemble: Elton John.
  • Illustrators: Harry Willock; Alan Aldridge.
  • Arranger: Gene Page.
  • Sitting atop the charts in 1975, Elton John and Bernie Taupin recalled their rise to power in Captain Fantastic and the Brown Dirt Cowboy, their first explicitly conceptual effort since Tumbleweed Connection. It showcases each at the peak of his power, as John crafts supple, elastic, versatile pop and Taupin's inscrutable wordplay is evocative, even moving. Although the musical skill on display here is dazzling, as it bounces between country and hard rock within the same song, this album needs time to reveal its treasures, but once it does, it captures John and Taupin at a career pinnacle. They collapsed in hubris and excess not long afterward, but this remains a testament to the strengths of their creative partnership. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (12/11/03, p.134) - Ranked #158 in Rolling Stone's "500 Greatest Albums Of All Time"
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Captain Fantastic And The Brown Dirt Cowboy [Remastered] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top