Fishpond Gift Vouchers - Let them choose!

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Captain Beyond

Hurry - Only 2 left in stock!
Album: Captain Beyond
# Song Title   Time
1)    1. Dancing Madly Backwards (On a Sea of Air)
2)    2. Armworth
3)    3. Myopic Void
4)    4. Mesmerization Eclipse
5)    5. Raging River of Fear
6)    1. Thousand Days of Yesterdays (Intro)
7)    2. Frozen Over
8)    3. Thousand Days of Yesterdays (Time Since Come and Gone)
9)    4. I Can't Feel Nothin', Part 1
10)    5. As the Moon Speaks (To The Waves of the Sea)
11)    6. Astral Lady
12)    7. As the Moon Speaks (Return)
13)    8. I Can't Feel Nothin', Pt. 2
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Captain Beyond: Rod Evans (vocals); Rhino (acoustic guitar, guitar, slide guitar); Lee Dorman (bass, background vocals, piano); Bobby Caldwell (drums, percussion, background vocals, piano, vibraphone, bells).
  • Recorded at Sunset Sound Recorders, Hollywood, California.
  • Digitally remastered by Steven Fallone, Polygram Studios.
  • Captain Beyond is a one-of-a-kind progressive album with rock, heavy metal, and jazz influences with a "space rock" lyrical bend. Formed by former members of Deep Purple (Rod Evans, vocals), Iron Butterfly (Rhino, lead guitar, and Lee Dorman, bass), and Johnny Winter (Bobby Caldwell, drums) Captain Beyond is an album that flows from riff to riff, drumbeat to drumbeat, often with various time signatures within the same song. Taking a tip from the Moody Blues, songs flow directly into each other without benefit of any lag time between selections. Taken as a whole, the album is kind of a rush, as quick, riff-laden guitar lines predominate for a few songs before slowing down temporarily into a lull until the next takeoff. Lyrically, the album differentiates itself by exploring themes of the outer world and meanings of existence, often with references to the moon, sea, sun, and so on. Listeners may get the feeling of taking a journey to space in a rocket ship headed for destination unknown. Musically, the album is superior in all aspects. Rod Evans has a strong rock voice, Rhino plays an enormous amount of hook-laden guitar lines, and Lee Dorman plays complex basslines (for example, at the end of "As the Moon Speaks-Return") that lead to typically rhythmic, nimble Bobby Caldwell drumming. The tightness between musicians is enormous, never lets up for long, and leaves the listener feeling like the ride should continue for the indefinite future. ~ Michael Ofjord
Professional Reviews
Record Collector (magazine) (p.76) - "The very apotheosis of hairy-shouldered, Harley-straddling early 70s American hard rock."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Hard Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Captain Beyond on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top