How does Fishpond Work?

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Caprice *

Album: Caprice *
# Song Title   Time
1)    Caprice No. 24
2)    Ma dove sei
3)    Violin Concerto No. 2: La campanella
4)    Io ti penso amore
5)    Sonata No. 12 in E minor, Op. 3
6)    Devil's Trill Sonata: [Excerpt]
7)    Capriccio tarantella
8)    Swan Lake: Theme
9)    Concerto No. 2: [Excerpt]
10)    Caprice No. 5
11)    Piano Sonata No. 11: Alla Turca
12)    Sonata in F minor, K. 466
13)    Gypsy Dance
14)    Carnival of Venice: [Excerpt]
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Audio Mixer: Ronald Prent.
  • Liner Note Authors: Sibylle Schfer; Burkhard Schfer.
  • Photographer: Philipp Mueller .
  • Caprice, violinist David Garrett's 2014 release on Decca, is a lively collection of crossover pieces that reflect his roles as a classically trained virtuoso and a populizer of many kinds of music. It's a balancing act that has great appeal for a large audience of casual listeners, and Garrett communicates both energy and excitement in his elaborate arrangements of music by the Romantic violinist par excellence, Niccol Paganini, giving a contemporary sound to the Caprice No. 24, La campanella, Carnival of Venice, and other spectacular showpieces. He also includes his own lavish versions of themes from Tchaikovsky's Swan Lake, Rachmaninov's Piano Concerto No. 2, Mozart's Rondo alla Turca, Wieniawski's Capriccio tarantella, and a smattering of flashy updates of old favorites. To add variety to the program, Garrett has also invited tenor Andrea Bocelli, pop vocalist Nicole Scherzinger, and guitarist Steve Morris, whose name recognition will draw in their fans. Of course, Garrett's unabashed showmanship and crowd-pleasing renditions of the classics will never win over purists, but since he makes no secret that he is an entertainer and not an academic, few listeners will feel misled. Instead, they will probably recognize much of the music here, and appreciate Garrett's intentions, if not always the results. ~ Blair Sanderson
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Classical
This title is unavailable for purchase as none of our regular suppliers have stock available. If you are the publisher, author or distributor for this item, please visit this link.
Back to top