SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Call Off the Search

Album: Call Off the Search
# Song Title   Time
1)    Call of the Search
2)    Crawling up a Hill
3)    Closest Thing to Crazy, The
4)    My Aphrodisiac Is You
5)    Learnin' the Blues
6)    Blame It on the Moon
7)    Belfast (Penguins and Cats)
8)    I Think It's Goning to Rain Today
9)    Mockingbird Song
10)    Tiger in the Night
11)    Faraway Voice
12)    Lilac Wine
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • This is a U.K. enhance-CD import featuring video footage of the artist.
  • Any notions of Katie Melua being a calculated Norah Jones knockoff fly out the window within seconds of listening to the jazzy chanteuse's wispy, sultry voice on her debut CALL OFF THE SEARCH. Like her idol, the late Eva Cassidy, in tribute to whom Melua penned the fetching "Faraway Voice," the young singer is clearly one of those fortunate souls who feels music in every fiber of their being.
  • It's somewhat surprising to note that the songs, which have the feel of Gramophone antiquity, were actually written by the singer herself or her mentor Mike Batt. Mixed in with the originals are some truly lovely covers including a heart-wrenching rendition of Randy Newman's "I Think It's Going to Rain Today" and a soulful version of John Mayall's "Crawling Up a Hill." Melua's vocals lie somewhere between the introverted pop quiver of Sarah McLachlan and the debauched croon of Billie Holiday, an otherworldly and appealing voice that makes CALL OFF THE SEARCH an intriguing first outing.
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Jazz » Jazz Vocal
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Vocal » General
This title is unavailable for purchase as none of our regular suppliers have stock available. If you are the publisher, author or distributor for this item, please visit this link.
Back to top