Fishpond Gift Vouchers - Let them choose!

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

By the Time It Gets Dark

Album: By the Time It Gets Dark
# Song Title   Time
1)    By the Time It Gets Dark
2)    Schooldays Over
3)    Once in a Very Blue Moon
4)    Farewell Farewell
5)    Sparks Might Fly
6)    Katie
7)    Leaving the Land
8)    There Is a Time
9)    Jamie
10)    Leaboy's Lassie
11)    Trying to Get the Balance Right
12)    Moon River - (bonus track)
13)    Don't Explain - (bonus track)
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Mary Black (vocals); Declan Sinnott (acoustic & slide guitars, synthesizer, background vocals); John Sheehan (violin); Una Ni Chauiainn, Caroline Lavelle (cello); Pat Crowley (accordion, piano, Fender Rhodes, synthesizer, background vocals); Carl Geraghty (soprano saxophone); Garvan Gallagher (acoustic & electric bass); Noel Bridgeman (percussion); Mandy Murphy, Honor Heffernan (background vocals).
  • Recorded at Lansdowne Studios, Dublin, Ireland in summer, 1987, and live at the Cork Opera House, Ireland on May 23, 1993.
  • Includes two live tracks, "Moon River" and "Don't Explain," that weren't on the original release.
  • Personnel: Mary Black (vocals); Declan Sinnott (guitar, acoustic guitar, slide guitar, Spanish guitar, synthesizer); John Sheehair, John Sheehan (violin); Una Ni Chuioius (cello); Pat Crowley (accordion, piano, synthesizer); Carl Geraghty (soprano saxophone); Garvan Gallagher (double bass); Noel Bridgeman (congas, claves).
  • Recording information: Cork Opera House (??/??/1987-05/23/1993); Lansdowne Studios, Dublin, Ireland (??/??/1987-05/23/1993).
  • Photographer: Colm Henry.
  • Unknown Contributor Roles: Mandy Murphy; Honor Hefferncur; Caroline LaVelle.
  • One of the leading Irish singers, Mary Black has popularized Irish folk music on a global level. Her folksy style and silken voice have captured the hearts of listeners since the early '80s. Lauded as one of the best interpretive singers of her generation, Black continues to create her serene brand of music, selling a huge amount of albums worldwide.
  • On 1987's BY THE TIME IT GETS DARK, Black teams up once again with long time associate Declan Sinnott to explore the lyrical beauty and poetic subtlety of such songs as "Once in a Very Blue Moon," "Leaving the Land," and "Trying to Get the Balance Right." This album sees Black extending her repertoire, adding songs by the likes of Richard Thompson and Sandy Denny to her set list. However, on all of the material here, Mary Black brings her own unique Irish combination of the ethereal and the earthy.
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » World Music » Europe » Celtic
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling By the Time It Gets Dark on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top