Australasia's Biggest Online Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Buffet Hotel [Digipak]

Album: Buffet Hotel [Digipak]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Nobody from Nowhere
2)    Wings
3)    Big Top
4)    Beautiful Swimmers
5)    Turn Up the Heat and Chill the Ros‚
6)    Summerzcool
7)    Rhumba Man
8)    We Learned to Be Cool from You
9)    Surfing in a Hurricane
10)    Life Short Call Now
11)    Buffet Hotel
12)    Lot to Drink About, A
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Jimmy Buffett (vocals, guitar); Will Kimbrough (vocals, guitar, banjo, mandolin, harmonica); Mac McAnally (vocals, guitar, mandolin, piano); Peter Mayer (vocals, guitar); Jim Mayer (vocals, bass guitar); Tina Gullickson, Nadirah Shakoor (vocals); Doyle Grisham (pedal steel guitar); Jake Shimabukuro (ukulele); John Lovell (trumpet, flugelhorn); Michael Utley (keyboards); Glenn Worf (bass guitar); Roger Guth (drums); Robert Greenidge (steel drum); Ralph MacDonald (percussion).
  • Audio Mixers: Chris Stone; Alan Schulman.
  • Liner Note Author: Jimmy Buffett.
  • Recording information: Blackbird Studio, Nashville, TN; British Grove Studio, London, England; Chicago Recording Company, Chicago, IL; LaLa Land Studio, Muscle Shoals, AL; Studio Africa, Mali, Bamako; Surf Shack Studio, Long Island, NY.
  • Photographer: Tom Freston.
  • Since Jimmy Buffett never leaves his comfort zone, it's hard to call 2009's Buffet Hotel a return to roots but, in a way, it is. Discounting the mock rap on "Turn Up the Heat and Chill the Ros‚," this album doesn't even have the lingering country and reggae flavors that seasoned 2006's Take the Weather with You, with all of the songs riding a cool, mellow country-rock wave, the kind that has been his stock-in-trade since the `70s. There's a difference between being part of a tradition and being stuck in the past and Buffett is surely in the former, not shying away from the new millennial mess, admitting that we all have "A Lot to Drink About" and never flinching from his advancing years, most movingly on a cover of Bruce Cockburn's "Life's Short Call Now." Cockburn's song is paired with another expertly chosen cover, Jesse Winchester's "Rhumba Man" (he covered Winchester's "Nothin' But a Breeze" the album before), but this has the highest percentage of original Buffett compositions since 1999's Beach House on the Moon, which is a good indication that Jimmy is in good form. While a handful are collaborations with his longtime colleague Mac McAnally, many of these are co-written with Will Kimbrough, who helps liven up Buffett and sharpen his pen, resulting in one of Jimmy's strongest albums in recent memory. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Professional Reviews
Billboard (p.32) - "True to form, BUFFET HOTEL is a breezy stroll through Buffett's usual stomping grounds....If you subscribe to it going in, you'll check out happy."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
Home » Music » Pop » Country Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Buffet Hotel [Digipak] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top