Fishpond Gift Vouchers - Let them choose!

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

Broken [EP]

New or Used: 2 copies from $13.00
Album: Broken [EP]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Pinion
2)    Wish
3)    Last
4)    Help Me I Am in Hell
5)    Happiness in Slavery
6)    Gave Up
7)    Silent
8)    Silent
9)    Silent
10)    Silent
11)    Silent
12)    Silent
13)    Silent
14)    Silent
15)    Silent
16)    Silent
17)    Silent
18)    Silent
19)    Silent
20)    Silent
21)    Silent
22)    Silent
23)    Silent
24)    Silent
25)    Silent
26)    Silent
27)    Silent
28)    Silent
29)    Silent
30)    Silent
31)    Silent
32)    Silent
33)    Silent
34)    Silent
35)    Silent
36)    Silent
37)    Silent
38)    Silent
39)    Silent
40)    Silent
41)    Silent
42)    Silent
43)    Silent
44)    Silent
45)    Silent
46)    Silent
47)    Silent
48)    Silent
49)    Silent
50)    Silent
51)    Silent
52)    Silent
53)    Silent
54)    Silent
55)    Silent
56)    Silent
57)    Silent
58)    Silent
59)    Silent
60)    Silent
61)    Silent
62)    Silent
63)    Silent
64)    Silent
65)    Silent
66)    Silent
67)    Silent
68)    Silent
69)    Silent
70)    Silent
71)    Silent
72)    Silent
73)    Silent
74)    Silent
75)    Silent
76)    Silent
77)    Silent
78)    Silent
79)    Silent
80)    Silent
81)    Silent
82)    Silent
83)    Silent
84)    Silent
85)    Silent
86)    Silent
87)    Silent
88)    Silent
89)    Silent
90)    Silent
91)    Silent
92)    Silent
93)    Silent
94)    Silent
95)    Silent
96)    Silent
97)    Silent
98)    Physical
99)    Suck
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Nine Inch Nails: Trent Reznor (vocals, various instruments).
  • Additional personnel: Martin Atkins, Chris Vrenna (drums), Maise (background vocals).
  • Having caught the public's attention with his catchy, chart- topping PRETTY HATE MACHINE, Trent Reznor was free to experiment with music less accessible to the mainstream. While his more fickle fans were disappointed with BROKEN, the faithful heard in it Reznor's true genius. Dark and edgy, BROKEN cuts the silence like a dirty knife--no singalong anthems here. Only hard-hitting rhythms and no-holds-barred metal riffs flavor this sophomore effort.
  • In BROKEN one can hear the artist maturing and simplifying his craft; Reznor succeeds here without relying on the trappings of pop formulas. The product of a burst of creative energy, BROKEN spawned a companion release of remixes, titled FIXED. From the tight, rapid-fire succession of chords that begins "Pinion" to the beautiful and dreamy jingling guitar of "Help Me I Am in Hell," BROKEN proved that Reznor was to remain a force in the alternative music scene.
Professional Reviews
Spin (12/92, p.94) - Highly Recommended - "...If The Who had decided to go industrial, BROKEN is probably what it would have sounded like, based on the slamming energy that Nine Inch Nails exudes..."

Q (12/92, p.130) - 3 Stars - Good - "...along with Ministry's recent PSALM 69, this can be considered some sort of landmark in the bleak wastes of industrial metal....the mastery of dynamics is never less than compelling. Cult status guaranteed..."

Alternative Press (11/92, p.51) - "...the deranged and screaming guitar chords are so clear, precise, and real, that one can actually feel each individual string vibrating....a strong and welcome follow-up to an exciting debut..."

Option (1-2/93, p.105) - "...displays the dynamics and fierce melodicism that made PRETTY HATE MACHINE so huge....[Reznor's] success has not made him a happy camper..."

Musician (11/92, p.101) - "...Louder and busier [than PRETTY HATE MACHINE], BROKEN recasts techno-gloom as a grand symphony....Big noise rains down in sheets, with grinding guitars and mangled synths boosted beyond distortion levels...a swell funhouse ride..."

Village Voice (3/2/93, p.5) - Ranked #3 on the EPs list of the Village Voice's 1992 Pazz & Jop Critics Poll.

NME (Magazine) (10/10/92, p.39) - 7 - Good - " incredibly aggressive but still quite electric musical approach....BROKEN shows all the signs that Trent Reznor has shaken off the shackles of influences and found his own suitably idiosyncratic niche..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Industrial
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Broken [EP] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top