Break the Cycle [Parental Advisory]


Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • This is a Hyper CD which contains regular audio tracks and provides a link to the artist's website with the help of a web browser.
  • Staind: Aaron Lewis (vocals); Mike Mushok (guitar); Johnny "Old School" April (bass); Jon Wysocki (drums).
  • Recorded at NRG Studios, Los Angeles, California; Longview Farm Studios, North Brookfield, Massachussetts; Southbeach Studios, Miami Beach, Florida; Electric Lady Recording Studio, New York, New York.
  • Lyricist: Aaron Lewis.
  • Audio Mixers: Andy Wallace; Steve Sisco.
  • Recording information: Electric Lady Recording Studio, NYC; Longview Farm Studios, North Brookfield, MA; NRG Studios, Los Angeles, CA; Southbeach Studios, Miami Beach, FL.
  • Illustrator: Craig Howell.
  • Photographer: Clay Patrick McBride.
  • Most modern hard rock bands miss the mark by over-emphasizing great riffs and neglecting the importance of complementary vocals. Luckily, such is not the case with Staind, who owe some nods to Limp Bizkit's Fred Durst for career guidance. Durst encouraged vocalist Aaron Lewis to sing more and scream less, which proved to be a key factor in the band's development. The appeal of Staind lies in the purity and fierce emotional integrity of their music, traits seldom seen in heavy rock since Suicidal Tendencies and Pantera ruled the roost.
  • Lewis's moonlighting as a solo acoustic performer in the band's lean years serves Staind well as BREAK THE CYCLE boasts a well balanced set of thrashy material ("Open Your Eyes" and "Safe Place") offset by more gentle rock ballads ("Fade" and "Suffer"). It is the impact of those ballads that sets Staind apart from their new-metal brethren. The radio-bound "It's Been Awhile" and full-band treatment of "Outside" strike universal chords, effectively capturing the bitterness of regret and facing reality with brooding hopefulness.
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (6/7/01, p.112) - 3.5 stars out of 5 - "...Misery rock's most song-oriented, downright sensitive band in years....they don't need to split eardrums to open hearts..."

CMJ (6/4/01, p.19) - "...Staind have claimed an even firmer grip on its moody rock crown with this album..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
People also searched for
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 8% commission by selling Break the Cycle on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top