SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

Brand New Dance

Album: Brand New Dance
# Song Title   Time
1)    Wheels of Love
2)    Tougher Than the Rest
3)    In His World
4)    Sweet Dreams of You
5)    Easy for You to Say
6)    Rollin' and Ramblin' (The Death of Hank Williams)
7)    Better Off Without You
8)    Never Be Anyone Else But You
9)    Brand New Dance
10)    Red Red Rose
Product Details


1. Wheels Of Love

2. Tougher Than The Rest

3. In His World

4. Sweet Dreams Of You

5. Easy For You To Say

6. Rollin' And Ramblin' [The Death Of Hank Williams]

7. Better Of Without You

8. Never Be Anyone Else But You

9. Brand New Day

10. Red Red Rose

Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Emmylou Harris (vocals, guitar); Richard Bennett (guitar, mandolin guitarophone, tambourine); Chris Leuzinger, Bruce Bouton, James Hollihan (guitar); Stuart Duncan (mandolin, fiddle); Pete Gorisch (cello); Cindy Reynolds Wyatt (harp); Liam O'Flynn, Davey Spillane (uilleann pipes, whistles); Jo-El Sonnier (French accordion, triangle); John Jarvis, Pete Wasner (piano); Bobby Wood (keyboards, organ); Glenn Worf, Garry Tallent, Bob Wray, Roy Huskey, Jr., Dave Pomeroy (bass); Milton Sledge, Kenny Malone (drums, percussion); Harry Stinson (drums); Iris Dement, Barry Tashian, Kostas, Claire Lynch, Kathy Chiavola, Wayland Patton, Melba Montgomery, Marshall Chapman, Kieran Kane, Jamie O'Hara, Mary Black, Delores Keane (background vocals).
  • The Nashville String Machine: Connie Ellisor, Carl Gorodetzky, James Grosjean, Lee Larrison, Ted Madsen, Robert Mason, Dennis Molchan, Laura Molyneaux, Pamela Sixfin, Mark Tanner, Gary Vanosdale, Kristin Wilkinson (strings).
  • Recorded at Jack's Tracks Recording Studio, Nashville, Tennessee.
  • Personnel: Emmylou Harris (vocals, acoustic guitar); Davy Spillane, Liam O'Flynn (whistling, Uilleann pipe); Richard Bennett (guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, mandolin, 6-string bass, tambourine); Chris Leuzinger (acoustic guitar, electric guitar); James Hollihan, Jr. (slide guitar); Bruce Bouton (steel guitar); Cindy Reynolds Wyatt (harp); Stuart Duncan (mandolin, fiddle); Peter Gorisch (cello); Connie Ellisor, Dennis Molchan, Laura Molyneaux, Ted Madsen, Kristin Wilkinson, The Nashville String Machine, Jim Grosjean, Robert Mason , Mark Tanner, Carl Gorodetzky, Pamela Sixfin, Lee Larrison, Gary VanOsdale (strings); Bobby Wood (piano, electric piano, organ, keyboards); Pete Wasner, John Jarvis (piano); Kenny Malone, Milton Sledge (drums, percussion); Harry Stinson (drums); Jo-El Sonnier (triangle).
  • Audio Mixer: Mark Miller .
  • Recording information: Jack's Tracks Recording Studio, Nashville, TN.
  • Photographer: Peter Nash .
  • Unknown Contributor Role: James Hollihan, Jr.
  • 1990's BRAND NEW DANCE, Emmylou Harris' 16th studio album, is another in a line of excellent efforts by one of modern country's finest artists. The album was Harris' first (excepting a Christmas album and a gospel record) to fail to produce a Top 40 country hit. Abandoned by the commercial country machine (or liberated from it, depending on your take), Harris would soon begin experimenting with her sound, resulting in a successful collaboration with rock producer Daniel Lanois (WRECKING BALL), and a tour with an edgy backing band (SPYBOY).
  • Nothing about BRAND NEW DANCE points to Harris' imminent commercial demise; the songs, playing, and performances here are typically impeccable and impassioned. Songwriter/husband Paul Kennerley contributes two of the album's best compositions, "Sweet Dreams of You" and the title track. Harris also plucks gems from the catalogs of Bruce Springsteen ("Tougher Than the Rest"), Robin and Lynda Williams ("Rollin' and Ramblin'"), and David Mallet ("Red Red Rose"). The album's overriding themes, yearning and heartache, dovetail nicely with the understated backing tracks and Harris' aching, quavering vocals. Those seeking evidence of modern country's demise might well start with the unjust fate this disc suffered.
Professional Reviews
Q (1/91) - 3 Stars - Good - "..Guaranteed to make your toes curl.."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Brand New Dance on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top