SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

Born on Flag Day

Album: Born on Flag Day
# Song Title   Time
1)    Easy
2)    Little White Lies
3)    Smith Hill
4)    Song About a Man
5)    Houston, TX
6)    Straight into a Storm
7)    Friday XIII
8)    Ghost, The
9)    Hell on Earth
10)    Stung - (featuring Sine Jensen/Liz Isenberg/Caleb Stine)
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Deer Tick: John McCauley (vocals, guitar, harmonica, electric piano); Andrew Tobiassen (guitar); Chris Ryan (bass instrument, bass guitar); Dennis Ryan (drums, background vocals).
  • Personnel: Dennis Michael Ryan (vocals, drums, percussion); Liz Isenberg (vocals); Andrew Grant Tobiassen (guitar).
  • Recording information: Yellow House Studios, Baltimore, MD (09/2008).
  • Photographer: Sayard Egan.
  • Unknown Contributor Role: John McCauley.
  • More focused than its predecessor, WAR ELEPHANT, Deer Tick's BORN ON FLAG DAY is comprised of ten songs in the straight-up stylings of indie rock and Americana. Vocalist John Joseph McCauley III's singing is still raspy (like a down-home version of Axl Rose) but here, he and his crew flesh out their woodsy sensibilities with a larger scope. The sound is bigger, and the hooks are more palpable. By sacrificing grit, some of the charm that made the debut a success is lost along the way, but the sleeker production is only a minor setback. Even with a heavy helping of spiteful, desperate lyrics delivered straight from the bottom of the bottle, the sparkling production makes Deer Tick seem like a likely crossover to the mainstream, specifically those who love a more mature, NPR sound.
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (p.74) - 3.5 stars out of 5 -- "[T]he dysfunctional-love duet 'Friday XIII' and a boozy version of the singalong suicide threat 'Goodnight, Irene' suggest that well-composed misery still loves company."

Spin (p.88) - "[They are] deft revivalists of 'country' in all its forms....Their second album delivers doses of pop buoyancy..."

CMJ - "Their raw sound seamlessly meshes a Johnny Cash version of country-blues with Deer Tick's own Northeastern-bred style of folksy rock 'n' roll."

Q (Magazine) (p.122) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "His alt-country songs bristle with classic influences..."

Uncut (magazine) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "The thrust of the songs suggests McCauley is a time-honored confessor, bleary beyond his years, the world fixed through the bottom of an empty glass."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Lo Fi
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Born on Flag Day on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top