Australasia's Biggest Online Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed


New or Used: 3 copies from $4.94
Album: Born
# Song Title   Time
1)    Quixote
2)    Winter
3)    Alexander The Great
4)    Oceanic
5)    Bella Donna
6)    Korobushka (The Peddler's Box)
7)    Alexander The Great
8)    Duel
9)    Bella Donna
10)    1812 -- Festival Overture, for orchestra in E flat major, Op. 49
11)    Dalalai
12)    Hymn
13)    Victory: Mike Batt Mix - (Mike Batt Mix)
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Bond: Haylie Ecker, Eos (violin); Tania Davis (viola); Gay-Yee Westeroff (cello, double bass).
  • Additional personnel includes: Carmen, Marta Sebestyen (vocals); Mark Wood, Ramon Ruiz (guitar); Pandit Dinesh, Michele Drees, Chucho Merchan (percussion); London Session Orchestra, Royal Philharmonic Orchestra.
  • Producers: Magnus Fiennes, Yoad Nevo, Gareth Cousins, Mike Batt.
  • Engineers include: Rick Featherstone, Pete Lewis, Gareth Cousins.
  • Recorded at Abbey Road Studios, Cubshack, Townhouse Studios, and Whitfield Street Studios, London, England; Oakleigh Music Studio, Strattford, England from November 1999-May 2000.
  • This is an Enhanced CD, which contains both regular audio tracks and multimedia computer files.
  • Bond: Haylie Ecker, Eos Chater (violin); Tania Davis (viola); Gay-Yee Westeroff (cello).
  • Producers include: Magnus Fiennes, Orion, Stuart Crichton, Andy Wright, Michael Cann.
  • Personnel: Dave "Clem" Clempson (guitar, electric sitar); Ramon Ruiz, John Themis, Mark Wood (guitar); Eos, Haylie Ecker (violin); Tania Davis (viola); Gay Yee-Westethoff (cello, double bass); Gay-Yee Westerhoff (cello); Finn Peters (alto saxophone); Joseph de Jesus (trombone); Kim Wood (piano, keyboards); Guy Pratt (bass guitar); Chucho Merch n, Dinesh (percussion).
  • Audio Mixers: Gareth Cousins; Pete Lewis.
  • Recording information: 11/1999-05/2000.
  • Director: Brian Gascoigne.
  • Arranger: John Asquith.
  • BORN, the debut album by the sultry string quartet Bond, is many things but certainly not a classical record in the traditional sense. And that's the point. The group expertly mines the crossover territory mapped out by artists such as Vanessa-Mae and Adiemus, and despite the hype and marketing, Bond shouldn't be dismissed as merely a pretty girl group cloaked in classical music pretension. Along with their photogenic looks, the group boasts impressive classical and pop music credentials and canny commercial instincts. The result: a big, polished production that sets classically derived themes and traditional string quartet instrumentation in a variety of musical contexts.
  • The album's opening track, "Quixote," is indicative of the group's method--an ultra-romantic theme abruptly explodes into a high-energy pastiche of techno-style beats, electronically enhanced vocals, and Middle Eastern-flavored colorings. The foursome shows its multitude of musical influences in the worldbeat stylings of "Alexander the Great," the Abba-esque "Dalalai," the atmospheric "Oceanic" (with vocalist Marta Sebestyen), and "The 1812," the group's lavishly produced reworking of Tchaikovsky's well-known overture. The album closes fittingly with a remixed version of the anthemic "Victory," an apt declaration of Bond's take-no-prisoners approach.
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » R&B » General
Home » Music » Pop
Home » Music » Classical
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Born on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top