Fishpond Gift Vouchers - Let them choose!

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

Blurry Blue Mountain [Digipak]

Album: Blurry Blue Mountain [Digipak]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Fields of Green
2)    Chunk of Coal
3)    Last One, The
4)    Monk's Mountain
5)    Spell Bound
6)    Ride the Rail
7)    Lucky Star Love
8)    Thin Line Man
9)    No Tellin'
10)    Brand New Swamp Thing
11)    Erosion
12)    Time Flies
13)    Better Man Than Me
14)    Love a Loser
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Howe Gelb (vocals, guitar, piano); Lonna Kelley (vocals); Nikolaj Heyman (guitar, Wurlitzer organ); Anders Pedersen (slide guitar, steel guitar); Thoger T. Lund (upright bass); Peter Dombernowsky (drums).
  • Audio Mixer: Kent Olsen.
  • Animation: Geoff Marslett.
  • Howe Gelb has a remarkable ability to sound like a master of his craft at the same time that he resembles a backporch picker who is paying as much attention to his iced tea as his music; Gelb can seem focused and casual at once, and he shows off this talent to its best advantage of Giant Sand's 2010 album Blurry Blue Mountain. Twenty-five years after releasing Giant Sand's first album, Gelb doesn't pull any new tricks out of his sleeves here, but given the many stylistic detours of Giant Sand's history, he can cover plenty of ground while still investigating his established sound, and Gelb and his latest band of collaborators are in truly fine fettle. Blurry Blue Mountain sounds both loose and tight; while nothing seems overworked, Gelb and his musicians (particularly Peter Dombernowsky on drums and Thoget T. Lund on bass) mesh precisely and put these songs on their feet with confidence and casual grace, from the loping seven-minute meditation of "Monk's Mountain" and the late-night barroom lament of "Chunk of Coal" to the chaotic, guitar-shot rock of "Thin Line Man," the stark, late-night philosophizing of "No Tellin'" and the punchy but high-strutting blues of "Brand New Swamp Thing." Blurry Blue Mountain is an album full of heart, soul, and wit, and this music confirms that no one does quite what Howe Gelb can do with such remarkably innate grace and feel; Gelb's songs find pretty remarkable things in the odd details of simple lives, and there some very real magic to be found in the elegant force of Blurry Blue Mountain. ~ Mark Deming
Professional Reviews
Mojo (Publisher) (p.104) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "BLURRY BLUE MOUNTAIN is as idiosyncratic and left-handed as ever, pregnant with moments of mercurial magic."

Clash (magazine) - "Rich, detailed, and poetic, BLURRY BLUE MOUNTAIN explores human emotion and the meaning of life like the great writers of old."

Uncut (magazine) (p.93) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "Playfulness abounds here....BLURRY BLUE MOUNTAIN is a lovely, oddly charming record."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Blurry Blue Mountain [Digipak] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top