Australasia's Biggest Online Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Blues in the Alley

Hurry - Only 3 left in stock!
Album: Blues in the Alley
# Song Title   Time
1)    Well You Needn't
2)    Blues in the Alley
3)    Fox, The
4)    Black Pearls
5)    Georgia on My Mind
6)    Autumn Leaves
7)    Fresh Air
8)    On a High Note
9)    Sandu
10)    West Side Story Medley
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Richie Hart (guitar); Richie Hart; Rick Petrone (bass instrument); Gerry Niewood (saxophone); Pete Levin (keyboards); Joe Corsello (drums, percussion).
  • Audio Remixer: Richard Corsello.
  • Liner Note Author: Bill Milkowski.
  • Recording information: Carriage House, Stamford, CT (2003); George Benson Studios, Englewood Cliffs, NJ (2003).
  • Author: Joyce Cooling.
  • Although Richie Hart has been around the East Coast jazz scene since the '70s and has a long list of sidemen credits, his output as a leader has been sporadic. Recorded in 2003, Blues in the Alley is the guitarist's third album as a leader and his first since 1991's Remembering Wes on Triloka. Remembering Wes was, as its title indicates, a tribute to Wes Montgomery -- and stylistically, Blues in the Alley picks up where Hart's second album left off. Hart is still a very Montgomery-influenced player (with a strong appreciation of early George Benson as well), and he is still a hard bopper who knows his soul-jazz (which is why he has been employed as a sideman by Jack McDuff, Dr. Lonnie Smith, Don Patterson and other famous organists). Blues in the Alley isn't the least bit groundbreaking, but it's a decent effort that illustrates Hart's strong sense of swing and blues feeling as well as his ability to show his vulnerable side on ballads. And to Hart's credit, Remembering Wes doesn't have the sort of all-warhorses-all-the-time policy that plagues so many hard bop dates. Thelonious Monk's "Well, You Needn't" and Johnny Mercer's "Autumn Leaves" certainly fall into the warhorse category, but Hart also provides three tunes of his own and unearths some worthwhile songs that haven't been beaten to death, including Lalo Schifrin's "The Fox" and John Coltrane's "Black Pearls." Hart concludes this 54-minute CD on an enjoyable note with a medley of Stephen Sondheim/Leonard Bernstein gems from West Side Story, which speaks well of the guitarist because many other jazzmen are scared to death of Sondheim. This solid, if derivative, release makes one glad to see Hart recording as a leader again. ~ Alex Henderson
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Blues
Home » Music » Jazz
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Blues in the Alley on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top