How does Fishpond Work?

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

Album: The Black Light
# Song Title   Time
1)    Gypsy's Curse
2)    Fake Fur
3)    Ride, Pt. II, The
4)    Where Water Flows
5)    Black Light, The
6)    Sideshow
7)    Chach
8)    Missing
9)    Minas de Cobre (For Better Metal)
10)    Over Your Shoulder
11)    Vinegaroon
12)    Trigger
13)    Sprawl
14)    Stray
15)    Old Man Waltz
16)    Bloodflow
17)    Frontera
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Calexico: Joey Burns (vocals, guitar, steel guitar, mandolin, cello, accordion, keyboards, double bass, percussion); John Convertino (accordion, vibraphone, marimba, drums, percussion).
  • Additonal personnel: Stephanie Nelson (vocals); Nick Luca (Spanish guitar, claves); Gabriel Landin (gitaron); Neil Harry (pedal steel guitar); Bridget Keating (violin); Rigo Pedroza, Fernando Sanchez, Al Tapatio (trumpet); Howe Gelb (piano, organ); Tasha Bundy (background vocals).
  • Principally recorded at Wavelab Studios, Tucson, Arizona in July, August & December, 1997.
  • Personnel: Joey Burns (vocals, guitar, mandolin, cello, accordion, keyboards, percussion); Nick Luca (guitar, claves); Bridget Keating (violin); John Convertino (accordion, vibraphone, marimba, drums, percussion); Fernando Sanchez (trumpet); Howe Gelb (piano, organ).
  • Recording information: WaveLab Studios, Tucson, AZ (07/1997-12/1997).
  • When not serving as a rhythm section for such acts as Giant Sand, Barbara Manning, Richard Buckner and The Friends of Dean Martinez, multi-instrumentalists Joey Burns and John Convertino comprise Calexico, also featuring Convertino's wife Tasha Bundy on backing vocals. Based in Tuscon Arizona, Calexico makes the most of its proximity to the Mexican border--the music is dominated by Spanish rhythms, sounds, and textures.
  • THE BLACK LIGHT is mostly instrumental, with a few songs sung by Burns in a voice strangely reminiscent of The Eagles' Glenn Frey. The feel is always relaxed but intriguing, with a wide range of instrumentation (Burns & Convertino play bass, guitar, cello, mandolin, accordian, steel guitar, vibes, drums, marimba, and percussion, with guest musicians handling organ, piano, violin, and claves) very effectively conveying a dark, almost cinematic vision of desert-town nightlife. A horn section is brilliantly utilized on tracks like "Chach," "Minas De Cobre," and "Over Your Shoulder." The vocal songs deal with violence, dead ends both figurative and literal, booze and crime. "Margaritaville" it ain't, but THE BLACK LIGHT still makes for excellent summer listening either on the porch, fire escape, or hacienda.
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Post Rock
This title is unavailable for purchase as none of our regular suppliers have stock available. If you are the publisher, author or distributor for this item, please visit this link.
Back to top