Fishpond Gift Vouchers - Let them choose!

New Zealand's Lowest Prices. Guaranteed

Billy Boy Sings Sonny Boy *

Album: Billy Boy Sings Sonny Boy *
# Song Title   Time
1)    $1, 000 Dollar Bill
2)    Love Me Baby
3)    Mellow Chick Swing
4)    New Jail House Blues
5)    Around This Old Juke Tonight
6)    Half-A-Pint
7)    Polly Put the Kettle On
8)    Decoration Day
9)    Squeeze Me Tight
10)    Black Gal Blues
11)    Collector Man Blues
12)    Rub-A-Dub
13)    Good Morning Little Schoolgirl
14)    Cut That Out
15)    Sugar Mama
16)    Tell Me Baby
17)    Springtime Blues
18)    [Untitled]
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Billy Boy Arnold (vocals, guitar, harmonica); Billy Flynn (guitar, mandolin); Mel Brown (guitar, piano); Willie "Big Eyes" Smith, Bob Stroger (drums).
  • Audio Mixer: Alec Fraser.
  • Liner Note Author: Billy Boy Arnold.
  • Recording information: Vyner Road Studio, Toronto, Ontario, British Columbia, (11/01/2007/11/02/2007).
  • Photographer: Eddy B.
  • Harmonica player Billy Boy Arnold is more than just a master of the vintage late 1940s, early 1950s classic Chicago blues harp style, he's also a natural singer, with a warmth and joy in his vocals that just gets bigger and better as his career goes on. This wonderful (and generous) 17-track set (there's also an unlisted 18th track) finds Arnold paying tribute to his mentor John Lee "Sonny Boy" Williamson, whose electric harp style in the mid 1940s is where the whole modern Chicago blues sound really lifted off of the ground. Arnold had a few harp lessons from Williamson as a child and the two remained close until Williamson's tragic murder in 1948. A more soulfully nuanced and less deliberately explosive singer than Williamson, Arnold does a great job of bringing his own flair to the 14 Williamson tunes here (Arnold also adds three of his own compositions), managing to replicate the feel of the originals while giving them an easy, natural-sounding warmth and verve. Working with a solid band that includes Willie "Big Eyes" Smith on drums, Bob Stroger on bass, Mel Brown on piano and Billy Flynn on mandolin, Arnold delivers urbane and perfectly balanced versions of "1,000 Dollar Bill," "New Jail House Blues," "Polly Put the Kettle On" and the classic "Good Morning Little Schoolgirl," finding little vocal corners that Williamson might have missed in the original versions. It's all classic Chicago blues done perfectly, and while there are plenty of harmonica breaks, it's Arnold's quietly brilliant singing that make this album such a pure delight. So much of contemporary blues seems to be about hurrying up to get to the instrumental breaks where everyone can show off what they've got. Arnold, however, understands that it's still really about the song, and he sings his heart out here, no doubt making his mentor proud. ~ Steve Leggett
Professional Reviews
Living Blues (p.59) - "Arnold's wide melodic range, quick-step phrasing, and off-beat rhythmic variations are spot on -- like Williamson, he often sounds as if he's playing a duet with himself."

Mojo (Publisher) (p.108) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "[A] programme of his songs in perfect period settings, with guitarists Billy Flynn and Mel Brown..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Blues » Chicago Blues
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Billy Boy Sings Sonny Boy * on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top