Australasia's Biggest Online Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Becoming I [Parental Advisory]

Album: Becoming I
# Song Title   Time
1)    Crashing
2)    Failure
3)    Hands and Knees
4)    Empty
5)    Bruises
6)    Drowning in It
7)    Watching Me Slip
8)    Becoming I
9)    Fold
10)    Neurotic
11)    Making Me Hate You
12)    Texas
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Unloco: Joey Duenas (vocals, acoustic guitar); Marc Serrano (guitar); Victor Escareno (bass); Pedro Navarette (drums).
  • Additional personnel: Scott Gillman (guitar, flute, keyboards, programming); Justin Walden (keyboards, programming).
  • Recorded at Third Stone Studios, North Hollywood, California.
  • Personnel: Joey Duenas (vocals); Scott Gilman (guitar, flute, keyboards, programming, drum programming); Justin Z. Walden (keyboards, programming, drum programming); Peter Navarrete (drums); Victor Escareno (background vocals).
  • Audio Mixers: Mudrock ; Andrew Murdock.
  • Recording information: Third Stone, North Hollywood, CA.
  • Photographer: James Minchin.
  • With the departure of guitarist Brian Arthur to join Goldfinger, and with its back against the wall due to disappointing sales of its Healing album, Unloco hit the studios with a new guitarist and a damn-the-torpedoes attitude for Becoming I. The results are a more focused and aggressive sound, owing in large part to the depth and technical assurance exhibited by new guitarist Marc Serrano. There's more muscle as well in Joey Duenas' vocals, which span the gap from angst balladry on "Watching Me Slip" to mutant, gravelly catharsis on "Making Me Hate You" and back to an unexpected sensitivity on "Texas," with its un-Unloco acoustic guitar/cello sample arrangement. Aside from that track, their lyrics focus as much as ever on self-pity, worthlessness, and extreme annoyance, and their style continues to conform to post-metal conventions. But the band's sharper performance and dabbling in electronic atmospherics suggest this is the lineup that could give Unloco the aboveground exposure that had previously eluded its grasp. ~ Robert L. Doerschuk
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Becoming I on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top