Fishpond Gift Vouchers - Let them choose!

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Be My Thrill *

Album: Be My Thrill *
# Song Title   Time
1)    Please Speak Well of Me
2)    When You Go Away
3)    Red Red Rose
4)    I Was Made for Sunny Days
5)    They're in Love, Where Am I?
6)    Add My Effort
7)    Be My Thrill
8)    Be My Honeypie
9)    Hummingbird
10)    Hard to Please
11)    Not a Lullaby
12)    How Do You Get High?
13)    Hope Tomorrow
14)    Empty Your Hands
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Deb Talan, Steve Tannen (vocals, guitar, Wurlitzer organ, keyboards); Meg Toohey (electric guitar); Brad Gordon (piano, organ, Wurlitzer organ, Mellotron); Frank Lenz (drums, percussion).
  • Audio Mixer: Ryan Freeland.
  • Illustrator: Deb Talan.
  • Photographer: Robert Sebree.
  • Like an earthier version of Sixpence None the Richer, the Weepies brew up a sound that's part Lilith Fair throwback, part coffeehouse folk, and part NPR-approved pop. Be My Thrill, the duo's third album, continues the same thread the Weepies have been spinning since their 2003 debut, with acoustic guitars and light boy/girl harmonies taking most of the spotlight. Deb Talan and Steve Tannen sing these songs like they're performing for their two-year-old son; their voices are soft and casual, their melodies whimsical, the arrangements tight and textured but rarely, if ever, overpowering. The song titles alone give away the album's cheery vibe -- "I Was Made for Sunny Days," "Be My Thrill," "Be My Honeypie" -- and even the titles that sound like sad ballads ("Hard to Please," "They're in Love, Where Am I?") are played with all the sunny cheer of a CW network TV soundtrack. There are drums here, but they share their time-keeping duties with tambourines, hand claps, and other light percussion; there are electric guitars, too, but they never take the spotlight. Instead, the focus is on homespun material, the sort of folk/pop fare that could be played on acoustic instruments around a campfire, and those who liked the Weepies' past albums will find more to enjoy here. ~ Andrew Leahey
Professional Reviews
Paste (magazine) - "First track 'Please Speak Well Of Me' is just what you'd expect from a band called The Weepies -- a simple waltz with wistful lyrics clearly enunciated by Talan's sugary voice..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Folk » General
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Be My Thrill * on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top