How does Fishpond Work?

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

New or Used: $8.60
Album: Based on a True Story *
# Song Title   Time
1)    Ernie
2)    Cay's Crays
3)    This Room
4)    Ray Ray
5)    Dark Days
6)    Flashback
7)    Roady
8)    Wandering Eye
9)    Del Fuego
10)    Hope
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Lisa Tomlins, Deva Mahal, Hollie Smith (vocals); Iain "Dobie Blaze" Gordon (guitar, piano, grand piano, electric piano, Fender Rhodes piano, Clavinet, organ, synthesizer); Nigel Collins (cello); Daniel Yeabsley (baritone saxophone); Christopher "Mu" Faiumu (synthesizer); Tom Callwood (upright bass); Nick Gaffaney (drums, cymbals, percussion); Riki Gooch, Julian Dyne (drums).
  • Audio Mixer: Christopher "Mu" Faiumu.
  • Recording information: The Drop, Wellington, New Zealand.
  • Photographer: Amelia Handscomb.
  • The debut album from Fat Freddy's Drop was originally issued on the band's own Drop label in its native New Zealand, where the disc promptly shipped gold and gained notoriety as the first indie album ever to hit number one on that country's pop charts. It ended up spending 42 weeks in the Top Ten. So expectations were high for the U.S. issue of Based on a True Story on the Kartel label, and the album doesn't disappoint. Although the band favors the term "hi-tek soul" to describe its music, the simple fact is that most of these songs fall squarely in the reggae/dub category, with occasional excursions into ska and jazzy, semi-electronic funk. Joe Dukie's voice is appealingly silky and soulful without being off-puttingly slick, and the band's horn section contributes alternately smooth and chunky chordal backing along with old-school organ and more modern synthesizer sounds. The mood of Based on a True Story is pretty consistently laid-back and mellow, and it's a little bit hard to identify highlights from among the album's mid-tempo offerings, but the extra funk edge of "Ray Ray" is especially nice, and "Cay's Crays" nicely evokes early UB40. The swinging ska beat and jazz flute of "Wandering Eye" are also lots of fun. Highly recommended. ~ Rick Anderson
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Based on a True Story * on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Back to top