Fishpond Gift Vouchers - Let them choose!

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

The Bach Book

Album: The Bach Book: 40th Anniversary Album
# Song Title   Time
1)    Prelude No. 1 in C Major (Well Tempered Clavier, BWV 846)
2)    Allegro (I)
3)    Affettuoso (II)
4)    Allegro (III)
5)    Jesu, Joy of Man's Desiring - (from "Chorale from Cantata No. 147")
6)    Gavotte in B Minor (Suite in D Major, BWV 1068)
7)    Allegro (I)
8)    Andante (II)
9)    Allegro (III)
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • THE BACH BOOK features re-recorded versions of Jacques Loussier's best-selling tracks from the 1960's.
  • Jacques Loussier Trio: Jacques Loussier (piano); Vincent Charbonnier (bass); Andre Arpino (drums).
  • Producers: Jacques Loussier, Elizabeth Note.
  • Recorded at Studio Miraval, Le Val, France in October 1993. Includes liner notes by Alyn Shipton.
  • There's something ironic about the attraction jazz musicians all seem to feel for the work of J.S. Bach. It's not that jazz and classical music aren't related -- on the contrary, jazz itself is a fusion of the rhythmic complexity of African music and the harmonic complexity of European music -- it's that Bach's particular genius was for counterpoint, a technique that jazz largely ignores. You can't improvise without abandoning strict counterpoint, and yet to depart from Bach's contrapuntal structures is, often, to disembowel his music. So there's a certain tension in the air when jazz players take on Bach. All of that said, there's simply no denying the charm of Loussier's trio arrangements. This program opens with "Prelude No. 1 in C Major" (from The Well-Tempered Clavier), then moves to the fifth "Brandenburg Concerto" (all three movements), "Jesu, Joy of Man's Desiring," the gavotte movement from the D major orchestral suite, and then the three movements of the D major harpsichord concerto. Sometimes the arrangements sound a bit forced; the drumbeat Andre Arpino imposes on the opening movement of the Brandenburg sounds particularly clunky. But for the most part Loussier pulls off this risky experiment with taste and obvious delight. Recommended. ~ Rick Anderson
Professional Reviews
JazzTimes (4/00, pp.116-8) - "...Uniformly beautiful arrangements and performances..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Jazz
Home » Music » Classical
Home » Music » Jazz » Jazz Instrument » Piano
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Bach Book: 40th Anniversary Album on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top