Fishpond Gift Vouchers - Let them choose!

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

Anything Goes

Hurry - Only 4 left in stock!
Album: Anything Goes
# Song Title   Time
1)    Get Happy
2)    Dreamsville
3)    Anything Goes
4)    Tres Palabras
5)    Skippy
6)    Nearness of You
7)    Still Crazy After All These Years
8)    Everything in Its Right Place
9)    Smile
10)    I've Grown Accustomed to Her Face
Product Details


1. Get Happy

2. Dreamsville

3. Anything Goes

4. Tres Palabras

5. Skippy

6. Nearness Of You

7. Still Crazy After All These Years

8. Everything In The Right Place

9. Smile

10. I've Grown Accustomed To Her Face

Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Brad Mehldau (piano); Larry Grenadier (bass); Jorge Rossy (drums).
  • Recorded at Avatar Studios, New York, New York on October 8 & 9, 2002.
  • Personnel: Brad Mehldau (piano); Jorge Rossy (drums).
  • Audio Mixer: James Farber.
  • Recording information: Avatar Recording Studios, New York, NY (10/08/2002/10/09/2002).
  • Photographer: Warren Darius Aftahi.
  • Ironically, Anything Goes would have been a more fitting title for pianist Brad Mehldau's previous effort, the idiosyncratic and experimental Largo. Completely eschewing the electronic flourishes and horn sections that characterized the 2002 Jon Brion-produced album as Mehldau's most adventurous release up to that point, Anything Goes is actually a return to a more traditional approach. Featuring his longtime sidemen bassist Larry Grenadier and drummer Jorge Rossy, Mehldau has crafted a thoughtful and pretty standards-based album. Classics including the title track and "Get Happy" are artfully deconstructed in a style that calls to mind a deft blending of Mehldau's most obvious touchstones, Keith Jarrett and Bill Evans. Similarly, "The Nearness of You" and "I've Grown Accustomed to Her Face" are masterpieces of impressionism that veritably weep with the plangent yearning of Miles Davis' trumpet. However, by the time Mehldau turns Radiohead's "Everything in Its Right Place" into the missing track off Sketches of Spain and solidifies Paul Simon's "Still Crazy After All These Years" as the most poignant ballad ever written, Anything Goes moves from the expected to the inspired and that alone makes this worth a listen. ~ Matt Collar
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (3/4/04, p.63) - 3 stars out of 5 - "Mehldau's intensely lyrical style melds with his longtime rhythm create melodic moments."

Uncut (4/04, p.102) - 4 stars out of 5 - "There's a sense on ANYTHING GOES of an older, calmer Mehldau wielding the slide rule with a little more discretion, the result being his music is becoming as easy to love as it is to gulpingly admire."

Mojo (Publisher) (3/04, p.107) - 4 stars out of 5 - "[A]n album of consolidation and refinement by a maverick giant of the music."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Jazz » Jazz Instrument » Piano
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Anything Goes on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top