SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Anthology of Anvil [Digipak]

Hurry - Only 2 left in stock!
Album: Anthology of Anvil [Digipak]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Metal on Metal
2)    Smokin' Green
3)    Winged Assassins
4)    Free as the Wind
5)    Old School
6)    Bushpig
7)    Blood on the Ice
8)    March of the Crabs
9)    Jackhammer
10)    Speed of Sound
11)    666
12)    Stolen
13)    Paper General
14)    Forged in Fire
15)    School Love
16)    Motormount
17)    Dr. Kevorkian
18)    Mothra
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Liner Note Authors: Lips ; Martin Popoff.
  • Often referred to as Canada's answer to Mot”rhead, Anvil's lengthy career (20 years and counting) can hardly be deemed anywhere near as influential or consistently excellent as that of Lemmy and company; indeed, this would be a tall order for just about any heavy metal band on the planet. And yet, like Mot”rhead, Anvil have always stuck to their guns with commendable stubbornness, and, in the process, outlasted hundreds of supposedly superior competitors with their deceptively simple, ever-frenetic style of thrash metal. Perpetually anchored front and back by the dynamic duo of vocalist/guitarist Steve "Lips" Kudlow and drummer extraordinaire Robb Reiner, Anvil have also endured their fair share of hardships, and it's no small wonder that Anthology of Anvil manages to sample at least one song from each of the nine studio albums (and one live set) leading up to its release. Admittedly, this completist-appeasing strategy is instantly challenged by the fact that the group's first three albums of seminal proto-thrash provide ten out of the 18 tracks collected here ("Metal on Metal," "Free as the Wind," "Jackhammer," "Mothra," and many more), leaving the remaining six LPs to fight over the remaining scraps with one or two submissions apiece ("Smokin' Green," "Bushpig," "Blood on Ice," etc.). But, in the absence of another viable option (1985's Backwaxed collection concentrated on rarities and leftovers), first-time visitors looking to sample as complete a cross section of Anvil's output as possible can do no better than this fun, raucous album. ~ Eduardo Rivadavia
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Anthology of Anvil [Digipak] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top