SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range


Album: Anthology: 1976-86 Ten Years of Anarchy Chaos
# Song Title   Time
1)    New Rose
2)    Help!
3)    Neat, Neat, Neat
4)    See Her Tonite
5)    Fan Club
6)    I Fall
7)    I Feel Alright
8)    Feel the Pain
9)    Stretcher Case
10)    Problem Child
11)    Don't Cry Wolf
12)    Your Eyes
13)    Creep (You Can't Fool Me)
14)    Idiot Box
15)    Love Song
16)    Smash It Up, Pt. 1
17)    Smash It Up, Pt. 2
18)    Machine Gun Etiquette
19)    Melody Lee
20)    Plan 9 Channel 7
21)    I Just Can't Be Happy Today
1)    History of the World, Pt. 1, The
2)    Wait for the Blackout
3)    Drinking About My Baby
4)    Silly Kids Games
5)    Curtain Call
6)    Lovely Money
7)    Dozen Girls
8)    Life Goes On
9)    Under the Floor Again
10)    Generals
11)    Grimly Fiendish
12)    Eloise
13)    Anything
14)    In Dulce Decorum
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • The Damned includes: Dave Vanian (vocals); Brian James, Lu Edmonds (guitar); Captain Sensible (bass); Rat Scabies (drums).
  • Recorded between 1976 & 1987. Includes liner notes by Kieron Tyler.
  • All tracks have been digitally remastered.
  • Personnel: Captain Sensible (vocals, guitar); Dave Vanian, Paul Gray (vocals); Brian James (guitar); Dave Berk, Jon Moss, Rat Scabies (drums).
  • Of the first wave of British punk groups, the Damned got there first, and stuck around a lot longer than the vast majority of their peers, leaving behind a large and sometimes puzzling recorded legacy -- playing the band's first single ("New Rose") and their last ("In Dulce Decorum") back to back, you'd be hard-pressed to guess that both tunes were credited to the same act. Smash It Up: The Anthology 1976-1987 is an ambitious two-CD set which attempts to present a coherent picture of the band's initial run over the course of two and a quarter hours, and for the most part it succeeds. Unlike the fine Damned retrospective The Light at the End of the Tunnel, Smash It Up was programmed chronologically, not thematically, and while the previous collection attempted to document a continuity in the band's music, Smash It Up instead portrays the group as constantly growing and evolving, mutating from speed-addled punk marauders into a surprisingly radio-friendly blend of pop, goth, and hard rock at journey's end. Smash It Up also has just about all the "hits" you could ask for, and while some of the lesser-known cuts on The Light at the End of the Tunnel added shadings to the picture, this collection not only serves the band's history quite well, but also the evolution of their profile in the world of music from upstarts to veterans of the pop charts. (One major gaffe, though: Is there anyone outside of the Damned's most rabid circle of fans who really wants to hear the 17-minute neo-psychedelic marathon "Curtain Call" ever again?) A thorough overview for beginners and a fine selection of fave cuts for fans, Smash It Up: The Anthology 1976-1987 does right by the Damned, a particularly nice thing for listeners in America, where much of their best work has received spotty distribution at best. ~ Mark Deming
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Gothic
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Anthology: 1976-86 Ten Years of Anarchy Chaos on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top