SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

Alive on Arrival/Jack Rabbit Slim [Digipak] *

Album: Alive on Arrival/Jack Rabbit Slim [Digipak] *
# Song Title   Time
1)    Goin' Down to Laurel
2)    Steve Forbert's Midsummer Night's Toast
3)    Thinkin'
4)    What Kinda Guy?
5)    It Isn't Gonna Be That Way
6)    Big City Cat
7)    Grand Central Station, March 18, 1977
8)    Tonight I Feel So Far Away from Home
9)    Settle Down
10)    You Cannot Win If You Do Not Play
11)    It's Been a Long Time
12)    House of Cards
13)    Song for the South (Time's Gonna Take Me Back)
14)    Steve Forbert's Moon River
15)    Lonesome Cowboy Bill's Song
1)    Romeo's Tune
2)    Sweet Love That You Give, The (Sure Goes a Long, Long Way)
3)    I'm in Love with You
4)    Say Goodbye to Little Jo
5)    Wait
6)    Make It All So Real
7)    Baby
8)    Complications
9)    Sadly Sorta Like a Soap Opera
10)    January 23-30, 1978
11)    Oil Song, The
12)    Make It All So Real [Alt. Version]
13)    Witch Blues
14)    Oh, Camille
15)    Smoky Windows
16)    Poor Boy
17)    Romeo's Tune [Live] - (live)
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Given the brutal nature of the music business, it's not really surprising that singer and songwriter Steve Forbert was generally abandoned by it after his contract dispute with Nemperor following the release of his self-titled album in 1982. Due to contract issues, he wasn't allowed to record again for nearly six years -- a death sentence for most artists. It's a familiar story, but one that is particularly poignant and heartbreaking because ever since Forbert released the two albums included in this package, 1978's Alive on Arrival and 1979's Jackrabbit Slim, he has been one of the most consistent, canny, sophisticated songmen on the planet. This set is being issued on the 35th anniversary of the former title, a commemorative edition licensed by Blue Corn Music with a fine, very personal liner essay from David Wild and great sound. Perhaps what's most astonishing about these two albums is how timeless they are; as in-the-moment now as when they were recorded. Had Jackrabbit Slim been released in the 21st century, it would have been a hit on contemporary country radio effortlessly melding folk, blues, rock, and even R&B. (Keith Urban cut Forbert's biggest hit -- "Romeo's Tune" -- as the opening track for his 2008 Greatest Hits set. No matter the labyrinthine nature of Forbert's career, two things remain constant: his work is consistently excellent and original, and these two albums stand among the greatest freshman and sophomore releases in pop history. 1978's Alive on Arrival came out of nowhere and revealed a songwriter in full possession of his gifts, right out of the gate. Just take a listen to "Goin' Down to Laurel," "It Isn't Gonna Be That Way," "Tonight I Feel So Far Away from Home," and the rocking closer "You Cannot Win If You Do Not Play," to see if you agree. Jackrabbit Slim is, if anything, even stronger than its predecessor. Cut in Nashville with producer John Simon, it's a crystalline view of how country, folk, pop, and rock -- which we now casually refer to as "Americana" -- work together in a balance that is confident and sophisticated. Forbert understands implicitly what his lyrics and melodies need to put across, and there isn't anything extra. From "Romeo's Tune" to "I'm in Love with You," to "Say Goodbye to Little Jo," to "Make It All So Real," "Sadly Sorta Like a Soap Opera," and "January 23-30 1978," his writerly (not pretentious) storytelling, sly wit, and an empathy with his characters, leaves other songwriters -- many we celebrate as legend -- in the dust. Over both discs, there are a slew of session and live bonus tracks that, all tolled, result in a glorious package that contains 32 tracks. This is easily one of the best reissues of the year and serves to remind anyone who ever knew it -- and inform those who didn't -- that not only is Forbert special, but that these records are, and will remain, bona fide classics. ~ Thom Jurek
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Alive on Arrival/Jack Rabbit Slim [Digipak] * on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top