SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed


Album: Album
# Song Title   Time
1)    Great Pretender
2)    Foolin' Around
3)    Time
4)    Your Kind of Lover
5)    Exercises in Free Love
6)    In My Defence
7)    Mr. Bad Guy
8)    Let's Turn It On
9)    Living on My Own
10)    Love Kills
11)    Barcelona
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Although Freddie Mercury had a legitimate solo career in Europe, the Queen singer's solo output was largely ignored stateside (since Queen's albums weren't selling that well in the U.S. during the mid- to late '80s, you wouldn't expect Mercury's solo material to exactly light up the charts). But Mercury managed to score quite a few solo hits back home in the U.K., especially his 1985 outing Mr. Bad Guy, as well as an assortment of singles and a vocal tour de force with opera singer Montserrat Caballe, Barcelona, all of which serve as the basis for the ten-track collection The Freddie Mercury Album. As with the other Queen members who have issued solo recordings, Mercury's solo material does not match the high quality work of his full-time band. That said, there are a few tracks that could have easily been reworked as Queen songs (in fact, one of Mercury's solo tracks, "Made in Heaven" -- which isn't included here -- was reworked and served as the title track for a 1995 posthumous Queen collection), including "Love Kills," "Mr. Bad Guy," and "Let's Turn It On" (the latter of which includes some very Brian May-like guitar work). To sample the finest tracks of Mercury's solo career, The Freddie Mercury Album is a worthy collection. [The Great Pretender is the U.S. version of The Freddie Mercury Album, which was issued around the same time and featured a slightly different track listing.] ~ Greg Prato
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Hard Rock
This title is unavailable for purchase as none of our regular suppliers have stock available. If you are the publisher, author or distributor for this item, please visit this link.
Back to top