Australasia's Biggest Online Store

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range


Album: 23
# Song Title   Time
1)    23
2)    Dr. Strangeluv
3)    Dress, The
4)    S.W.
5)    Spring and by Summer Fall
6)    Silently
7)    Publisher
8)    Heroine
9)    Top Ranking
10)    My Impure Hair
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Morgan King (French horn).
  • Audio Mixers: Alan Moulder; Rich Costey.
  • Recording information: Magic Shop (2006); Stay Gold (2006).
  • Editor: Eddie Jackson .
  • On 23, Blonde Redhead's second full-length outing for 4AD, the New York City-based indie-rock trio, fronted by reedy-voiced singer/multi-instrumentalists Amedeo Pace and Kazu Makino (Simone Pace rounds out the line-up on drums), continues to refine the intense, artfully eccentric sound that it crafted on MISERY IS A BUTTERFLY. Although there are nods to the band's guitar-driven formative aesthetic (see the majestic title track and the searing "Spring and By Summer Fall"), even these more energetic moments carry a fascinating, dream-like quality, recalling the mesmerizing atmosphere of the Cure's DISINTEGRATION, while other tunes mix goth splendor with Beatlesque flourishes (as on the disarming "SW"). Easily one of the most intriguing indie albums of early '07, 23 is required listening for aficionados of intelligent, expansive rock.
Professional Reviews
Entertainment Weekly (p.75) - "Their seventh LP unfolds like a vivid dream, as Kazu Makino and Amedeo Pace's drowsy vocals float in and out of focus..." -- Grade: A-

Q (p.123) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "Kazu Makino's breathy soprano soars on the gorgeous title track, while highlights elsewhere include the filmic 'The Dress' and the desolate, piano-driven 'SW'..."

Magnet (p.99) - "23 is a sinister, slinky catwalk with sharper melodic angles and a propulsive, post-punk groove, giving substance to all that style."

Mojo (Publisher) (p.110) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "Their music is now writ large, although without losing any of its subtlety and idiosyncrasy."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Exercise
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling 23 on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top