Australasia's Biggest Online Store

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

18 Essential Songs

Album: 18 Essential Songs
# Song Title   Time
1)    Trouble in Mind - (mono)
2)    Down on Me
3)    Bye Bye Baby
4)    Ball and Chain
5)    Piece of My Heart
6)    I Need a Man to Love
7)    Summertime - (alternate version)
8)    Try (Just a Little Bit Harder)
9)    One Good Man
10)    Kozmic Blues
11)    Raise Your Hand
12)    Tell Mama
13)    Move Over
14)    Mercedes Benz
15)    Get It While You Can
16)    Half Moon
17)    Trust Me
18)    Me and Bobby McGee - (acoustic demo)
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel includes: Janis Joplin (vocals, acoustic guitar); John Till, Sam Andrew (guitar, background vocals); Jorma Kaukonen, Michael Bloomfield, James Gurley (guitar); Cornelius "Snooky" Flowers (baritone saxophone, background vocals); Richard Bell (piano, background vocals); Ken Pearson (organ, background vocals); Richard Kermode, Gabriel Mekler (keyboards); Brad Campbell (bass, background vocals); Peter Albin (bass); Clark Pierson (drums, background vocals); Dave Getz, Maury Baker, Lonnie Castille, Ray Markowitz (drums); Vince Mitchell, Phil Badella, John Cooke (background vocals).
  • Producers: Lou Adler, John Phillips, John Simon, Gabriel Mekler, Paul Rothchild.
  • Compilation producer: Bob Irwin.
  • Recorded between 1965 and 1970. Includes liner notes by Mary Katherine Aldin.
  • Digitally remastered by Vic Anesini (Sony Music Studios, New York).
  • All tracks on 18 ESSENTIAL SONGS are taken from the three-disc box set JANIS.
  • Personnel: Sam Andrew (guitar, background vocals); James Gurley, John Till (guitar); Terry Clements (tenor saxophone); Cornelius "Snookey" Flowers (baritone saxophone, background vocals); Luis Gasco (trumpet); Richard Bell (piano); Ken Pearson (organ); Gabriel Mekler, Richard Kermode (keyboards); David Getz, Roy Markowitz, Clark Pierson, Maury Baker, Lonnie Castille (drums).
  • Audio Remasterer: Vic Anesini.
  • Audio Remixer: Vic Anesini.
  • Liner Note Author: Mary Katherine Aldin.
  • Recording information: Monterey Pop Festival Live.
  • Photographer: David Gahr.
  • Arranger: Janis Joplin.
  • Drawing inspiration from Bessie Smith and Odetta, Joplin developed a brash, uncompromising vocal style quite unlike accustomed folk madonnas. In 1966 Janis was invited to the Bay Area to front Big Brother And The Holding Company. Their Cheap Thrills, a joyous celebration of true psychedelic soul, contained two Joplin 'standards', 'Piece Of My Heart' and 'Ball And Chain', but she left the group in November 1968. Electric Flag members Mike Bloomfield, Harvey Brooks and Nick Gravenites helped assemble a new act, known as the Kozmic Blues Band. I Got Dem Ol' Kozmic Blues Again Mama was coolly received, but the set contained several excellent Joplin vocals, notably 'Try', 'Maybe' and 'Little Girl Blue'. The singer subsequently dissolved the band and undertook medical advice for drink/drug abuse. A slimmed-down group, the Full Tilt Boogie Band, was unveiled in May 1970 featuring a tighter, more intimate sound. Sessions for a debut album were all but complete when, on 4 October 1970, Joplin died of a heroin overdose at her Hollywood hotel. The posthumous Pearl proved her most consistent work, with 'My Baby', 'Cry Baby' and the anthemic 'Get It While You Can'. The highlight was the chart-topping 'Me And Bobby McGee', which allowed Joplin to be both vulnerable and assertive. Janis knew few boundaries, artistic or personal, and her sadly brief catalogue is marked by bare-nerved honesty.
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Hard Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling 18 Essential Songs on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top