Fishpond Gift Vouchers - Let them choose!

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

Your Brother's Blood
By

Rating
An action-packed, post-apocalyptic adventure for fans of The Walking Dead, World War Z and Feed. The dead don't always die. Those who rise again are the Walkin' . . . Thomas is thirty-two. He comes from the small town of Barkley. He has a wife there, Sarah, and a child, Mary; good solid names from the Good Book. And he is on his way home from the war, where he has been serving as a conscripted soldier. Thomas is also dead - risen again, he is one of the Walkin'. And Barkley does not suffer the wicked to live.
Product Details

About the Author

David Towsey is a graduate of the Bath Spa and Aberystwyth University Creative Writing programmes. Born in Dorset, he moved to Wales and managed to lose himself there for ten years. He's now determined to see what the rest of the world has to offer.

Reviews

'Despite sitting in two genres, Your Brother's Blood manages to largely avoid relying on recycled tropes. There's little in the way of gun-toting, zombie-blasting carnage here. Instead, this is a sparse, elegantly written novel about family ties' SFX. * SFX * Towsey is a master of his craft; lyrical prose and compelling characters combine here to create a novel with real warmth and heart * James Aitcheson, author of Sworn Swords * One of the finest tales of the undead in recent memory, told in a grit-crusted, Old West style . . . with rich characterization, starkly beautiful language, and philosophical depth * NPR * If you're picking up Your Brother's Blood and expect it's just another zombie novel, then let me tell you: it's not . . . this one is more psychological than action-packed. If you want a break from all the swordfights and space battles, this is the book you should pick up * Draumr Kopa * Towsey's writing is a joy - the reader can feel and empathise with Thomas' angst as he is hunted across inhospitable terrains with his young daughter. This will appeal to fans of both the zombie and classic Western genres * British Fantasy Society * [Your Brother's Blood] is an exceptionally good Weird Western zombie novel. Given how rare excellence is in any one of those areas, finding it at the conjunction of all three is a truly spectacular occurrence . . . Your Brother's Blood is something special * Pornokitsch * Something completely new and different . . . literary and elegant at the same time . . . I recommend it to anyone looking for something that's different, resonant and not "just another zombie book" * Bibliosanctum * This debut is utterly engrossing. It's a truly fascinating reinterpretation of the zombie myths ... I want to read a sequel to this book tomorrow. No, let me rephrase that, I NEED to read a sequel to this book tomorrow * The Eloquent Page * 'Haunting, elegiac, evocative and human. Combines the taut yet melancholy feel of a classic pursuit Western with an authentically horrific sense of history gone wrong. A beautifully crafted debut' Christopher Brookmyre. * Christopher Brookmyre * 'David Towsey has created something new and quite amazing in his debut. Re-interpreting the well-represented zombie genre, flipping it upside-down and front-to-back ... utterly captivating' Book Plank. * Book Plank * 'Literary Horror at its best ... an extremely talented new voice in genre fiction' readerdad.co.uk. * readerdad.co.uk * 'Intelligent plotting and terrific storytelling throughout, I found this utterly gripping' Liz Loves Books. * Liz Loves Books * 'All in all it was a fantastic read and would recommend it highly. An excitingly uncomfortable read' Moggy's Books. * Moggy's Books * This is a sparse, elegantly written novel about family ties. The influence of Cormac McCarthy and especially The Road is keenly felt, and Thomas and Mary's relationship is moving without being overly sentimental . . . the deft world-building and focus on small-scale human tragedy make for an absorbing alternative to World War Z -style epics. * SFX *

Look for similar items by category
People also searched for
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Your Brother's Blood: The Walkin' Book 1 (The Walkin') on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top