Australasia's Biggest Online Store

New Zealand's Lowest Prices. Guaranteed

The Yard
By

Rating
A gripping debut from Alex Grecian, The Yard evokes London in the wake of Jack the Ripper. Victorian London is in the grip of a wave of crime and murder, with its citizens no longer able to trust the police to protect them. The newly formed Murder Squad of Scotland Yard, made up of just twelve detectives, battles in vain against the tide of violence and cruelty. When the body of a Yard detective is found in a suitcase, his lips sewn together and his eyes sewn shut, it becomes clear that not even the police are safe from attack. Has the Ripper returned - or is a new killer at large? Walter Day, the squad's newest recruit, is assigned the case and finds a strange ally in the Yard's first forensic pathologist, Dr Bernard Kingsley. Can they find the murderer before it's too late? Or is London at the mercy of a serial killer even deadlier than Jack the Ripper? Fans of Interpretation of Murder and The Suspicions of Mr. Whicher will love Alex Grecian's first crime novel: The Yard. The Yard will take you into the dark side of Victorian London and offers a fascinating insight into the birth of CSI. Praise for The Yard: 'If Charles Dickens isn't somewhere clapping his hands for this one, Wilkie Collins surely is.' New York Times Alex Grecian has worked for an ad agency on accounts for Harley-Davidson, Cub Foods, and The Great American Smokeout, before returning to writing fiction full time and raising his son. Alex is the author of the long-running and critically acclaimed comic book series Proof, and he lives in Topeka, Kansas, with his wife and son. The Yard is his first novel.
Product Details

About the Author

Alex Grecian worked for an ad agency before returning to writing fiction full-time and raising his son. Alex is the author of the long-running and critically acclaimed comic-book series Proof, and he lives in Topeka, Kansas, with his wife and son. Lost and Gone Forever is Alex's fifth novel in his bestselling Scotland Yard Murder Squad series, following The Yard, The Black Country,The Devil's Workshop and The Harvest Man.

Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Yard: Scotland Yard Murder Squad Book 1 (Scotland Yard Murder Squad) on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top