SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Wolf Tower Sequence


Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

Tanith Lee is an award-winning, highly-rated fatasy writer here and in the United States. With 17 children's books, 43 adult novels, 8 short story collections and several awards to her name, she also writes for radio and television. Her book THE SILVER METAL LOVER is under development as a feature film. LAW OF THE WOLF TOWER was shortlisted for the Guardian Children's Book Award.


Wolf Wing by Tanith Lee is the final installment in the four-book series. Claidi and Argul are finally married, but their lazy life in Peshamba is not all they expected. Argul misses his former life as leader of the Hulta and they both miss a life of adventure. Then they receive a mysterious summons from Argul's powerful grandmother and a perilous new episode begins. Copyright 2003 Reed Business Information.

Tanith Lee restores one's faith in fiction as the expression of imagination and original thought. - The GuardianLAW OF THE WOLF TOWER: 'The fresh, first person diary captures the confusion and immediacy of adolescence ... Tanith Lee creates alternative societies vividly and sets them in astonishingly visual landscapes.' - The GuardianLAW OF THE WOLF TOWER: 'A feast for fans of fantasy. For those long winter nights by the fire, this will make compulsive reading.' - The BooksellerEAST OF MIDNIGHT: 'Tanith Lee creates strange magic worlds full of beautiful landscapes peopled with sorcerers compelled to carry out revolting practices. Yet their problems are human ones and the complex plot of this book should fascinate even sceptical older children.' - British Book NewsThis is just a delight, from one of the masters of fantasy. One of those books you wish you could read again for the first time. - Armadillo

Gr 6-10-As this fourth and concluding volume of the series begins, Claidi and her beloved, Argul, are about to be married. As they travel in their magical robotic servant/ship Yinyay, they revisit Claidi's original home, as well as other sites and people from earlier volumes, confronting questions about their parentage, motivations of past friends, and the Tower's intrigue. After Argul's grandmother tells them that his sorceress mother, Ustareth, long believed dead, is alive and has created a magical land across the sea, they travel with four companions to her land of seemingly miraculous food trees and magically created animals. A confrontation with her leads to answers to some long-asked questions and a bittersweet new beginning for the travelers. Lee successfully uses Claidi's journal writing to build suspense and provide background on characters and events from previous books, though given the lack of new characters and dependence on previous events, the book's primary appeal is to fans of the series. The protagonist's deepening and sometimes ambiguous relationship with Argul, as well as the complex jealousies and romantic relationships among the other four travelers, adds interest and allows the characters to develop as their journey progresses. Claidi's world, especially Ustareth's island, is well drawn, and readers will appreciate the detail and humor Lee uses in describing people and places visited. Sherwood Smith's Crown Duel (1997) and Court Duel (1998, both Harcourt) offer another strong female heroine faced with intrigue and a touch of romance.-Beth L. Meister, Yeshiva of Central Queens, Flushing, NY Copyright 2003 Reed Business Information.

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
This title is unavailable for purchase as none of our regular suppliers have stock available. If you are the publisher, author or distributor for this item, please visit this link.
Back to top