Fishpond Gift Vouchers - Let them choose!

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

White Guys
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

A strikingly powerful novel of male friendship and loyalty from Anthony Giardina, the acclaimed author of THE COUNTRY OF MARRIAGE, an American novelist in the tradition of Cheever and Updike

About the Author

Anthony Giardina is the author of two novels, Men with Debts and A Boy's Pretensions, a collection of short stories, The Country of Marriage, and a number of plays that have been produced to critical acclaim in New York, Seattle, Yale and Washington. His stories and essays have appeared in Harpers, Esquire, GQ and the New York Times Magazine. He lives with his wife and children in Northampton, Massachusetts.

Reviews

The real-life 1989 murder of Charles Stuart's pregnant wife, supposedly by a black assailant, gripped Boston and exposed racial and class tensions that pulsed through the city's neighborhoods. Giardina's intelligent fourth novel (after Recent History) riffs off those events, but keeps the focus on class and the title ethnicity. Growing up in working-class Winship, north of Boston, Tim O'Kane is an "ethnic runt," the lone Irish boy among a group of three Italians. He and two of his friends go to college and graduate into differing classes of good jobs-district attorney, real estate developer and, in Tim's case, textbook salesman. Tim marries a woman with a wealthy father, buys a house in the suburbs and finds himself alienated. Tim and Co. are regularly drawn back to Winship and to the company of their former group leader, Billy Mogavero, still charismatic but also still living at home. Tim and Billy pull each other into their respective worlds, with Billy getting taken up by bourgeois Boston-at least until Billy's new wife is murdered. Like Ron Carlson and Richard Ford, Giardina pinpoints the pleasures and anxieties that come with wife, children and a big front lawn. He keeps readers guessing about who committed the murder, but the real payoff is what the crime reveals about Tim's tightly manufactured life. (May) Copyright 2006 Reed Business Information.

"Brilliantly captures both the aspiration and self-loathing of the upwardly mobile American male" -- Michael Arditti * Independent *
"There is a tender immediacy to his prose, and White Guys is studded with beautifully observed moments...alert to the slightest emotional nuance between men, and between husbands and wives and parents and children" * Daily Telegraph *
"Giardina has an extraordinary gift for describing the eddies of power in what seem to be familiar relationships" -- David Hare
"I love men who can write about relationships as tenderly and honestly as Giardina does" -- Julie Myerson
"Smart... Compelling... Perfectly handled" * San Francisco Chronicle *

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling White Guys on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top