SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Marie Dunwoody has all the trappings of the successful modern woman: a lovely husband, three wonderful children, a detached house and a professional career. Except, she can't bake for toffee. Her cupcakes are crap. Her meringues are all runny, her sponges flat, her biscuits rock-hard. But that's precisely why Waitrose was invented, right? But Marie can't ignore the disappointed looks from her family any more, or continue to be shamed by neighbour and nemesis, Lucy Gray. Lucy, ever the domestic goddess, whips up perfect profiteroles and luscious layer cakes with one hand, while ironing her bed sheets with the other. Marie's had enough: this is the year she kicks baking butt. And she's not alone for long: husband Robert has clocked that his boss can be swayed by a good shortbread or two and so takes up the pinny and roling pin himself, seeing as serious redundancies are on the horizon. Twins Rose and Iris are happy to eat all the half-baked mistakes that come their way as things heat up in the kitchen, but big brother Angus is more distant than usual, as if something is troubling him. And there is no one more nosey than nine-year-old girls... With family life as jumbled as a Rocky Road slice, will Marie banish her baking demons? Can Robert save the wobbling souffle that is his career? And is there more to Lucy's sugar-coated life than meets the eye? This is a laugh-out loud novel, perfect for fans of Jenny Colgan and Allison Pearson. *** This is a work of fiction, in no way endorsed by Mary Berry, and where neither Mary Berry herself nor her recipes feature. ***
Product Details

Promotional Information

For fans of The Great British Bake Off, this is a story about family life, unfriendly rivalry and flat Victoria sponges

About the Author

Claire Sandy lives in Surrey with a husband and a daughter and loves lots of things, such as baking, reading, writing, eating, chatting about matters of global importance with her nine year old, dressing up her dog and inventing new things to do with gin. She's worked at many things - advertising, radio jingles, a wool shop - and thanks her lucky stars that writing What Would Mary Berry Do? involved every single item on her list of loved things.

Reviews

A laugh on every page * Lucy Diamond, bestselling author of The Beach Cafe * This book is a sheer delight. Funny, warm and a real page turner * Katie Fforde, bestselling author of The Perfect Match * Wonderfully warm ... a delicious treat * Vanessa Greene, bestselling author of The Vintage Tea Cup Club * I recommend you devour it immediately * Kirsty Greenwood, bestselling author of Yours Truly * A serious chocolate cake of a book: classic, delicious, dangerously moreish, and made with heaps of love. Fantastic. * Victoria Fox, bestselling author of Power Games * A laugh-out-loud story * Prima Baby and Pregnancy *

Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling What Would Mary Berry Do? on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top