SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

The Weight of Ink
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

An intellectual and emotional jigsaw puzzle of a novel for fans of A.S. Byatt's Possession and Geraldine Brooks' People of the Book.

About the Author

Rachel Kadish is the award-winning author of the novels From a Sealed Room, Tolstoy Lied- A Love Story and The Weight of Ink, as well as the novella I Was Here. Her work has appeared on NPR and in the New York Times, Ploughshares, and Tin House, and has been anthologised in the Pushcart Prize Anthology and elsewhere.She lives outside Boston and teaches in Lesley University's MFA Program in Creative Writing.www.rachelkadish.com

Reviews

"A gifted writer, astonishingly adept at nuance, narration, and the politics of passion."
-- Toni Morrison
"This astonishing third novel from Kadish introduces readers to the 17th-century Anglo-Jewish world with not only excellent scholarship, but also fine storytelling. The riveting narrative and well-honed characters will earn a place in readers' hearts."
* Library Journal, starred review *
"Like A.S. Byatt's Possession and Tom Stoppard's Arcadia, this emotionally rewarding novel follows [...] present-day academics trying to make sense of a mystery from the past... Vivid and memorable."
* Publisher's Weekly *
"An unforgettable quest... Kadish's characters are memorable, and we're treated to a host of them...From Shakespeare's Dark Lady to Spinoza's philosophical heresies, Kadish leaves no stone unturned in this moving historical epic. Chock-full of rich detail and literary intrigue."
* Kirkus Reviews *
"Kadish positions two women born centuries apart yet united by a thirst for knowledge at the core of a richly textured, addictive novel...Kadish has fashioned a suspenseful literary tale that serves as a compelling tribute to women across the centuries committed to living, breathing, and celebrating the life of the mind."
* Booklist *

`So many historical novels play with the "across worlds and centuries" trope, but this one really delivers, tying characters and manuscripts together with deep assurance. A book to get lost in.'

* LitHub *

`So powerful and visceral...Incredible...I haven't been able to read a book since.'

-- Rose McGowan * New York Times Book Review Podcast *

`The Weight of Ink hooked me so deeply...Kadish, with storytelling genius, mirrors events and eureka moments across the centuries, binding the characters to one another. And an enormously satisfying ending wraps everything up while leaving enough rough edges to mimic the loose ends of real life.'

* Amazon Book Review *
`A sophisticated twining of literature and early modern history, The Weight of Ink expertly layers research and imagination, blending historical romance with intellectually satisfying metafiction.' * Sydney Morning Herald *

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Weight of Ink on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Back to top