Fishpond Gift Vouchers - Let them choose!

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

The Way the World Works
By

Rating
Product Details

Reviews

"Baker is one of the most beautiful, original and ingenious prose stylists to have come along in decades . . . and takes a kind of mad scientist's delight in the way things work and how the world is put together."--Charles McGrath "The New York Times Magazine " "His prose is so luminescent and so precise it manually recalibrates our brains."--Lev Grossman "Time " "Mr. Baker is a wise and amiable cultural commentator worth listening to. . . . [his] prose is polished, witty . . . his essays are always provocative and entertaining."--Cynthis Crossen "The Wall Street Journal " "Nicholson Baker is such a swell, smart writer that he rarely - maybe never - tips his hand.... In Baker's view the mundane, closely enough observed, may be the skate key to the sublime."--Carolyn See "The Washington Post " "[A] winning new book. . . . This singular writer . . . can mount an argument skillfully and deliver an efficient conclusive kick."--The San Francisco Chronicle "A fundamentally radical author . . . you can never be sure quite where Baker is going to take you. . . . [He] is an essayist in the tradition of GK Chesterton and Max Beerbohm, writing winning fantasies upon whatever chance thoughts may come into his head."--Financial Times (London) "What these works share is a sense that how we think, our idiosyncratic dance with both experience and memory, defines who we are."--The Los Angeles Times "Baker looks at the world around us in a way that is not only artful and entertaining but instructive."--Charleston Post & Courier "Exhilarating . . . Eye-opening . . . Baker continues his project of bringing new dimensions and idiosyncrasies to the personal essay, which he is devoted to reviving and reinventing."--The Boston Globe "If only more of the literary world worked the way Baker does. . . . You cannot deny the courage of the writer. . . . Baker is singular."--The Buffalo News "Baker's new essay collection, The Way the World Works, is always absorbing, merging his interest in solid, tangible objects with his devotion to the life of the mind. . . . simply dazzling."--Seattle Times

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Way the World Works: Essays on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top