Australasia's Biggest Online Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Walking to Gatlinburg
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

HOWARD FRANK MOSHER is the author of ten books. His novel "A Stranger in the Kingdom" won the New England Book Award for Fiction and was made into a movie, as were his novels "Disappearance" and "Where the Rivers Flow North." A recipient of the Literature Award from the American Academy and Institute of Arts and Letters, Mosher lives in Vermont.

Reviews

Praise for "Walking to Gatlinburg
"An Indie Next Notable Pick
"Mosher is a rare storyteller, able to both instruct and entertain, and he brings all his talents to this unforgettable and unique novel."
-"BookPage
"
"A Civil War odyssey in the tradition of Charles Frazier's "Cold Mountain" and Robert Olmstead's "Coal Black Horse," Mosher's latest, about a Vermont teenager's harrowing journey south to find his missing-in-action brother, is old-fashioned in the best sense of the word....The story of Morgan's rite-of-passage through an American arcadia despoiled by war and slavery is an engrossing tale with mass appeal.
-"Publisher's Weekly
"
"We are in the hands of a skilled storyteller, and every word matters. A captivating story, and one that cries for a sequel."
-"Kirkus," starred review
"[A] haunting and hallucinatory novel....Historical realism this isn't but it is a violent, often puzzling picaresque with an invigorating take on the Underground Railroad and an unsettling vision of an America despoiled by the War between the States."
-"Booklist"
Praise for Howard Frank Mosher
"Mosher is an old-fashioned writer, a storyteller of the first order; he has written a page-turner in the best sense of the word."
-"Boston Globe"
"A combination of Ernest Hemingway, Henry David Thoreau, and Jim Harrison."
-"Los Angeles Times"
"Mosher calls to mind the best of Mark Twain - mischievous, touching, and very funny."
-"Carl Hiaasen"
"Rollicking, boisterous, sprawling, and highly entertaining."
"-Harper's Magazine"
"Revives the tall tale with remarkable grace and intelligence ... delightful."
-"Washington Post"
"Mosher is a gifted storyteller with a solid sense of place and history."
-"Cleveland Plain Dealer"
"One of our very best writers ... Mosher offers us a landscape, both natural and human, worth knowing, worth believing in."
-"Richard Russo "u

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Walking to Gatlinburg on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top