Australasia's Biggest Online Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

The Voices Within
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

Charles Fernyhough is a writer and psychologist. He is the author of the critically acclaimed Pieces of Light, shortlisted for many prizes, and A Thousand Days of Wonder. He directs Hearing the Voice, a project on inner voices based at Durham University. He lives in County Durham, United Kingdom.

Reviews

"Talk to yourself? We all do, all the time, and the voices persist even when you'd rather they shush. The 'inner voice' is becoming a prime-time topic in brain studies, and Fernyhough's book is a solid entry in the discussion. It provides enough science to ground the argument, but the real achievement here is the writing. The author is a psychologist and a novelist, and his prose has a narrative feel that separates it from most books on the psych shelf. The subject is one of the tough brain conundrums that's far from settled; we'll be trying to figure out the role of the inner voice long from now, but Fernyhough's book is a readable take on what we know and where the questions may go next."-David DiSalvo, Forbes.com, Best Brain Books of 2016 "Fernyhough has built up an interesting picture of inner speech and its functions."-Jerome Groopman, New Yorker "In The Voices Within, [Fernyhough] has rendered complicated mental experience without losing its human texture, as so often happens when psychological questions are addressed in the lab... [It's] an intriguing and deeply humane book."--Casey Schwartz, New York Times Book Review "T]his book is a must-read for those seeking to understand the voices in their heads."--Discover "The author's investigations, at once scientific and humane, represent the discipline of psychology at its rare best... That Mr. Fernyhough is a novelist as well as a psychologist is evident in his illuminating discussion of the polyphonic art of fiction and the way in which writers such as Virginia Woolf, Muriel Spark and William Golding unpack characters from the voices they generate in those characters' heads... Some of the most compelling pages in Mr. Fernyhough's book describe how hearing voices may be a response to traumatic, sometimes repressed, memories, rather than merely being the result of the atypical processing of inner speech. The voices carry messages that cannot otherwise be spoken... After reading The Voices Within, you may never again be quite as thoughtless about the fact that you think."--Raymond Tallis, Wall Street Journal "The Voices Within...intriguingly challenges conventional assumptions about the self as unified and coherent, while also posing the question: how might that which we deem pathological be shaped by the mores of our times?"--Christine Gross-Loh, Guardian, Best Books for Summer 2016 "[A] fascinating and elegantly humane book."--Guardian "[Fernyhough's] account is fascinating, not only for the ideas he raises but also for his vignettes of historical thought and research."--Lancet "The psychologist Charles Fernyhough, who became interested in the manifold ways in which we commune with ourselves, decided to investigate the phenomenon and his book, The Voices Within, is the intriguing result of his research."--Observer "This sophisticated and appealing work scrutinizes a tangled topic with aplomb and will leave readers permanently observing their own thought processes differently. Perfect for readers of Oliver Sacks and Malcolm Gladwell."--Booklist, starred review "Fernyhough's book is a valuable addition to the literature surrounding the unending human quest to understand the location--and the creation--of the self."--Publishers Weekly

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Voices Within: The History and Science of How We Talk to Ourselves on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top