SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

Twilight of the American Century
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

Andrew Bacevich is professor emeritus of history and international relations at Boston University and is the author of numerous books, including America's War for the Greater Middle East: A Military History.

Reviews

"Andrew Bacevich is one of contemporary America's most prolific and courageous academic public intellectuals. His is a prophetic voice, often almost alone in the wilderness of contemporary political affairs. Bacevich combines an historian's sensibility with the polemicist's edge to produce deep yet pithy takes on our contemporary scene. Twilight of the American Century brings together in one volume some of Bacevich's most timely and timeless reflections on American domestic and foreign policy."--Michael Desch, University of Notre Dame
"Andrew Bacevich is one of the sanest, most articulate, and most courageous voices in American public life today. A true conservative, he is a powerful critic of imperialism in the tradition of Christopher Lasch and Wiliam Appleman Williams--both of whom he discusses compellingly in this indispensable book. Twilight of the American Century reveals the wide range and undiminished vitality of his thought."--Jackson Lears, Board of Governors Distinguished Professor of History, Rutgers University
"Since he left the US Army and thrust himself into the world of polemical journalism, Andrew Bacevich has distinguished himself with his toughness of mind, forcefulness of expression, and clear-eyed realism. All are displayed in this muscular volume of collected works--along with a bonus: an enlightening and touching autobiographical essay that lays bare much of the origin of his thinking."--Robert W. Merry, author of President McKinley: Architect of the American Century
"Twilight of the American Century is a bracingly honest, transpartisan reflection on the limits of American power. It will challenge you to rethink the prevailing historical narrative, the (failed) bipartisan establishment consensus, and America's role in the world."--Katrina vanden Heuvel, editor and publisher, The Nation
"In his new collection, Twilight of the American Century, Andrew Bacevich . . . an unsurpassed chronicler of America's misadventures in the Middle East, turns his eye to Washington's self-anointed elite. . . . Bacevich is at his best when he focuses on how America sees itself and how that distorted self-image affects its relations with the rest of the world."--The Nation
"The histories of empires and the histories of war are generally written by the winner to put themselves in a positive light. It has been difficult for the U.S. empire to maintain their facade of goodness for their endeavors after World War II, and even more significantly after 9/11. In Twilight of the American Century, a selection of his own collected writings, Andrew J. Bacevich reveals the contradictions between what is said about U.S. actions--either as anticipation or as definition--and the results of such actions. In essence, the rationalizations, the hubris, and the arrogance do not match up with the lack of accomplishments, the latter themselves ill-defined."--The Palestine Chronicle

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
People also searched for
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Twilight of the American Century on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top